GIZMO CACHEFINDER – ALMOST WORDLESS WEDNESDAY

I love going geocaching with mom & furriends. We’d been out to Marshall Hampton Reserve once before, but Sunday we went back to hike the second trail and do a little geocaching.

Here is Finn helping me hunt it up, but I got there first 🙂

OO

Sun got in my eyes here but I still found the cache…

O

If you love to hike with your dogs you should try geocaching…it’s great fun for dogs and their people!

Gizmo Out!

Thanks to BlogPaws for hosting this Wordless Wednesday Blog Hop. Hop on over to join in the fun and see what everyone else has been up to this week.

WordlessWednesday

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to GIZMO CACHEFINDER – ALMOST WORDLESS WEDNESDAY

  1. Woof! Woof! You are brave. You seem to enjoy your hiking adventure. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  2. Roo says:

    Oh that does look like tremendous fun! Treasure hunting! Yipee! Good goin on findin it Gizmo 😀

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

    PeeS: Congrats on your very sweet award! and Thank You for thinking of me too 🙂 Wags to ya pal 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      Hiya Roo! You are a sweet dog *snoogles* I do have big fun out in the woods and finding the caches is exciting! Mom sez there’s lots of caches where you live too *snoogles*

  3. Bella says:

    Hey Gizmo!
    I LOVE Geocaching. My human is teaching me to ‘find it’ at the moment. I can ‘find it’ ok, it’s just ‘Bella DROP” that I’m having trouble with! *wag wag wag*
    Geo-Dogs are PAWSOME!

    • Gizmo says:

      Bella…you’re a caching dog too?! How pawsome! My job is to guard the cache while mom signs the log for us both…Mom sent your mom an email about caching dogs *snoogles*

    • Gizmo says:

      Hiya Dakota! Geocaching is our hobby/sport…It’s like a hike and a treasure hunt combined and where I get my name GizmoGeodog from…I’ll be writing more about it in my blog and you can read about it now here http://www.geocaching.com My mom’s geo name is JerseyGirl & Bruno and mine is LittleGizmo *snoogles*

  4. Kroten says:

    It looks like a fun adventure…but I bet you went straight to bathtub afterwards 😉

  5. What fun that looks like… however it seems like there might be a bath at the end of the adventure. Happy Wednesday!

  6. It looks like fun…ahhhm I think I should ask Mr. “Doggle” for geocachin ;o)

    • Gizmo says:

      Easy pal you would LOVE geocaching! There’s lots of geopups in England…mom talks to some of them & we’ll be doing an interview with one soon *cachingsnoogles*

  7. That looks like a great way to spend the day.

  8. Kristine says:

    This is the first I have heard of the term “geocaching” but it sounds like a lot of fun and definitely something my dog would enjoy. Is this something people can do on their own or do you need to be in a structured group?

    • Gizmo says:

      I started on my own…just me and my dog Bruno, hiking trails & finding caches…didn’t even know how to use my GPS then…if you go to http://www.geocaching.com there’s a lot of good stuff there on getting started…and you can always ask me questions…i’ll be blogging more about it over the next couple of months too…

  9. Clowie says:

    You certainly look as though you had fun! I love hiking with my bipeds.

  10. Hey Giz, Jetty here. Hi Miss JG.

    Dude, congrats for your pawesome pic in a tree on Blogpaws! Whoo hoo!

    Not to be thick… but… can you explain geocaching for us? We see what you found, however would love to better understand!

    Manly man chest bumps,

    • Gizmo says:

      I know…I was so excited to see my piccie there today…and mom was grinning like a fool…*pawpumps!*

      Miss L…geocaching is mom & my hobby/sport…it’s a hike plus a treasure hunt all in one…lots of good beginner info here at http://www.geocching.com

      mom & I will be writing more about it the next few months…LOTS of geocaching down where you live…

      *highpaws* Jetty!

  11. Wow! That does look like a LOT of fun! I don’t know if I could sniff stuff out like that though, Gizmo.

    • Gizmo says:

      Mom’s got the GPS thingie fur doin’ the findin’…my job is guarding the cache fur mom while she signs the log fur us…You could do this Oz my pal *snoogles*

  12. maxwellnfaraday says:

    Mowzers! That’s sounds like a lot of fun – Allie would love it! Except not today (we’re supposed to get 3 inches of snow tonight!).

  13. I love going outdoors and treasure hunting with my dogs! Looks like we both went Geocaching this week, that ammo can find you made is way sweet! TFSYF (Thanks for sharing your find) lol!

    • Gizmo says:

      Oh Joy! We love making friends with other canine cachers…and last weekend was perfect hiking and caching weather here…not too hot for a nice long hike for a change… and I love the logging acronym! Ammo cans are the best aren’t they…and it’s fun to realize that caches look the same all over…Wish we could cache together some day…the dogs would love it!

  14. Kia says:

    Looks like ya had fun!

  15. Loy says:

    What fun you must have had! It looks like the cache was really deep into the woods! Happy Wednesday!

    • Gizmo says:

      We did hike about 6 miles that day, but it was a big look around the oak hammock…It’s an old cattle ranch that was donated to our county as Environmental Lands for all to use

  16. Boy that looks fun Gizmo! Cinnamon wants to try it next year! Happy Wednesday!

  17. ednaatnutro says:

    HiYa Gizmo! I love the expression on your face- you are really enjoying yourself! 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      *pawwaves*! I do love being out in the woods with mom and finding the caches…it’s the most fun ever…Thanks for stopping by today *snoogles*

  18. It sounds like you’re really good at this Gizmo! I don’t trust Lulu to go into those woods. She’ll never come out!

    Christie from lifewithbeagle.com

    • Gizmo says:

      I’ve had lots of practice…Mom started taking me geocaching as soon as I came to live with her and i’ve been to thousands of caches over the last 3 1/2 years…Geocaching really is pawsome fun…I’ve even geocached in orlando…there’s lots and lots of caches there

  19. spdmama says:

    Please share your furry friend with us at Wordless Wednesday Bloggers – http://www.wordlesswednesdaybloggers.blogspot.com . See you there!

  20. A Husky Life says:

    That looks like so much fun!

  21. Hi Gizmo,
    I already love hiking but geocaching looks like a lot of fun! Happy Wagging Holiday Cheer
    Maggie

  22. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hi Gizmo,

    I’ve never tried that, maybe I’ll see if Mum and Dad will try it in the New Year, it looks like fun! Do they put Doggie treats in the box? Tee Hee

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      No treats pal (the wild animals would go after them) but I have gotten some kewl dog toys that hoomins left fur me 🙂 You would have a great time Snoopy but watch out for the burrs in yur fur! *snoogles*

  23. Garth Riley says:

    Geocaching sounds like fun. My Auntie Ginnie wants to try it.

    • Gizmo says:

      Geocaching would be a great sprot for you Garth…You get to hike int he woods and find treasures too…sometimes I find toys for me in the boxes! Tell your Aunt Ginnie to take you with her *snoogles*

Leave a comment