Homemade Liver Treats…Not for Every Kitchen

JG will be handling today’s post fur me cuz I iz much better at eating liver treets than I am at making them…Gizmo

I used to make home-made liver treats all the time, but back then I had a dehydrator. For reasons obvious if you’ve ever tried this, I used to plug it in on the back screen porch & let it do its job. These days I am without either a screen porch or a dehydrator, so I’d put off making liver treats, not wanting the house to reek of liver for day.

Guilt got the better of me recently. I was reading one of Susan Conant’s books (If you haven’t read any of her books you really should.  Her cozy mysteries include lots of great information about dogs in general, malamutes & dog training. And they’re lots of fun!) & she was describing how she made liver treats to use as bait for training & in the show ring. At that moment I looked down at Gizmo & he gave me “the eye”…you know “the eye”…it’s when your dog tells you that they’d do anything for you so why couldn’t you just put up with a little liver stink & make them some yummy treats.

I’m a sucker for”the eye” so off I went to the store & bought a package of beef liver. Lucky for us it was a cooler day so I was able to open the windows during the cooking process so the smell wasn’t all that bad.

The treats came out great &, no surprise, Gizmo loved them. Here’s how I did it:

HOME-MADE LIVER TREATS

1# package of beef liver (no need for expensive calves liver here)

1 clove garlic

Put the liver& garlic clove in a big pot & cover with water.  Bring to a boil & keep at a low boil for about 20″. Drain the pot & toss the garlic clove.

Rinse the liver under cool water & pat dry with a paper towel.

Place the liver on a cookie sheet ( I put a light coating of pan spray or use a pastry paper liner. If you’re fancy you could use one of those nice silpat sheets.) & bake at 250* for 2-3 hours. It’s done when the liver is nice & dry.

Break into treat-sized pieces & store in the freezer.



About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

