TASTY TUESDAY – TURKBERRY COOKIES

Just in time fur the holidays JG dug out an old favorite that we got from a furriend a long time ago. This is a super quick treat recipe, easy to fit in with all your other Turkey Day cooking.

Ingredients

1 cup whole cranberries
1 12.5 oz. can white turkey (or chicken) drained, liquid reserved
3-1/2 cups flour
1 egg
1 tablespoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 350*. I use silicon cookie sheets, so no prep needed on them, but if you’re using standard metal sheets, spray lightly with pan spray.

Mix the flour and baking powder in a large bowl. Then put the turkey and the egg in your food processor or blender and process till it’s a smooth paste. Use a bit of the reserved liquid as needed. Add the cranberries and continue to process till till the berries are chopped up fine.

Mix the wet ingredients into the dry, then turn out onto a board and knead until all is combined well. Keep adding reserved liquid, a little at a time, as needed. I did use all of it here to get the dough fully mixed. You’ll have a nice heavy dough, moist but not sticky. I use a pastry sheet so I don’t have to flour the  board. Once the dough is nice and smooth, roll it out to about 1/4″ thickness.

You can certainly use festive cutters for these, but Gizmo seems to like small round cookies the best (easiest for him to eat) so I just use a small round biscuit cutter. Place the cookies on your sheet and bake for about 25″.

This is 1/2 of the recipe ready for the oven.

Take them out when they are light tan…no need to over bake them. Cook on a rack, and store. I like to store them in the fridge since this recipe does last us a while.

Here is that same half, cooling on the rack.

GIZMO TESTED – GIZMO APPROVED!

Today we’re joining the Tasty Tuesday Blog Hop hosted by Kol’s Notes & Sugar the Golden RetrieverHop On to some other blogs to discover all sorts of new treats and snacks.

To take part:
    • Follow your hosts, Kol’s Notes & Sugar the Golden Retriever
  • Grab the badge above for your post
  • Add your link to this week’s in Linkz tool
  • and Hop On!

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to TASTY TUESDAY – TURKBERRY COOKIES

  1. Woof! Woof! Gizmo … its ME Sugar this comment is from Madi (they can’t leave a message on your blog)
    Hey Gizmo….thanks ever so much for stopping by to say hi. OMDs those cookies are all for you and good for you too. Mom told me Cranberries are very healthy. Ummmmm after seeing this lovely snack, I’m about decided I need to either dock Mom’s pay or hire a Chef.
    Hugs Madi

  2. Woof! Woof! happy TASTY Tuesday! YUM YUM YUM YUM!!! Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    FYI: Our friends that are not in WP can not leave a comment on your blog (Madi informed me and said “the secret is to turn off the email requirement” Not sure what it means. My blog is self hosted WP. You are using wp.com. Hope you fix the problem. Golden Woofs

  3. Madi and Mom says:

    Hi Gizmo…
    OMDs thank you so very much for being such a kind and accommodating pup!! Mom and I love visiting folks and especially making new friends. Since she retired being my typist is her only job
    MOL
    Hugs Madi your New BFFF

  4. bichonpawz says:

    Hi there! This sounds like a great treat! We will get our mama to try these! xoxo Chloe and LadyBug

  5. Hey Gizmo, Jet here. Hi Miss JG.

    So glad you decided to participate in the hop, it’s such tasty fun!

    Feel free to drop by with some of those cookies… we’ll trade you collard stems!!! 🙂

  6. Ohmy goodness! Those look delicious! We’ll definitely have to try these :0)

  7. Hi Gizmo! I’m telling mama about these cookies cos I can tell they tastes so good!

Leave a Reply

