THANKFUL THURSDAY – GIVE THANKS FOR WORK

THIS POST IS PART OF THE THANKFUL THURSDAY BLOG HOP.  HOP ON OVER TO PEPI SMARTDOG’S BLOG TO VISIT ALL THE BLOGS PARTICIPATING.

Today is the day that most hoomins and anipals will gather to eat, drink watch football, enjoy family and friends and hopefully be thankful for all the blessings in their lives.

It’s going to be a little different here at our house. JG will be working on Thanksgiving Day. Since she works from home we’ll be together all day but it’ll be just us. We will have turkey and sweet potatoes and cranberries, and probably some dessert – brownies & ice cream I think.   JG will be sharing with me I’m sure and I do have a fresh batch of Turkberry cookies of my own.

While this may sound a bit sad, it really isn’t. A few years ago JG had a job she really loved. She was working for a local home builders private trade association, helping the builders “go green”. It was a great job, but sadly it wouldn’t last. Back in early 2009 when the economy tanked our small staff was asked to take a voluntary salary cut, which we all did….but it wasn’t enough and by the end  of the year we were all laid off.

JG was out of work for quite some time, but finally in August of 2011 she found a job with a wonderful company that allows her to work online from home. Because our company operates 365 days/year we have to have our lines staffed on holidays. Because JG’s family lives far away she always offers to work holiday shifts so that her team members can spend the day with their families.

So today I am very thankful that JG found a job with such a great company and sacrificing a dinner seems a small price to pay for the comforts this job allows us.

I’d also like to share a post today. It’s from our furriends Lulu and Christie over at Life with Beagle.  If you’re looking for a few good ways to show thanks and give back today, Lulu has some great ideas here so do take a look.

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to THANKFUL THURSDAY – GIVE THANKS FOR WORK

  1. Clowie says:

    That’s nice! Most of us take a lot for granted. Enjoy your day!

  2. Loy says:

    Dear Gizmo, Glad that JG has a job she enjoys and allows her to spend all day with you. I also think that it’s really great of her to work so others can celebrate with their families. But mostly, I think she’s one lucky human to have such a wonderful puppy as you in her life. Happy Thanksgiving to you and JG. Loy P.S. Enjoy your cookies…they sound wonderful!

  3. Hey Gizmo, Jet here. Hi Miss JG.

    We’re so glad Miss JG has biscuit earning ability now and that she can work from home. Mom agrees; she feels so fortunate to cobble together many part time jobs. Holidays are what you make them; whether they match the calendar or occur when possible, knowing you’re connected to others is the main thing. 🙂

    We send Jetty kisses, JJ hugs and lovies from Mom.

    • Gizmo says:

      Hiya Jet…Very impawtant that those biscuits keep coming in…Glad that both our Mom’s have found a way to make it work…Our holiday turned out so surprising…Friends brought by four (!) plates of food, and then we had the gift of an entire smoked turkey…There’s so much food here right now it’s like we cooked for 12…Which means lots of turkey noms fur me *snoogles* to you, JJ and Mom

Leave a Reply

