GIZMO RECOMMENDS…EZYDOG HARNESS & LEASH

Gizmo & I  were lucky enough to be chosen to test drive the EZYDOG Chest Plate Harness & Cujo Shock Absorbing Leash . The great folks at EZYDOG sent these along so we could report back on how they did on one hard-to-fit terrier with a penchant for pulling every time he sees a duck (and there’s lots of duck along our walking path).

Gizmo can be very hard to fit and in the past I’ve had problems getting harnesses adjusted correctly for him…he hates standing still while I fuss with straps and buckles. He’s narrow in the rear but with a deep chest. What we’ve found in the past with a standard harness is that the size that fits his chest is too loose in rear no matter how much we adjust, and the converse is true…when the rear fits the chest is too tight.

Out of the box the first thing I noticed is that both items are well-made of quality materials and appear very durable. The  EZYDOG Chest Plate Harness has a totally different design from the standard harnesses I’ve tried before…the criss-crossed straps  both lie across the front part of the dog’s back so no worries about that narrow rear.  I can be all thumbs, but I found adjusting this harness to be relatively easy…Gizmo appreciated not having to wait too long for me to be done.

Gizmo looks pretty comfortable, so now it’s time to go for a spin.

Our trail is not very wide and it’s heavily used by walkers, jogger, skaters and bikers, so it’s important that a dog is under control and stays fairly near his human.  With a standard leash & collar I felt that I was always having to pull Gizmo back in to me, constantly yanking on his neck, which was not fun or comfortable for either of us. The 25″ length of the Cujo leash works well for us…Gizmo is built low to the ground, but the 6″ of stretch made up for any surface changes or lunges towards those ducks. There is also a 40″ length available if you’d prefer.  I found the padded handle to be very comfortable in my hand. It’s a bit different feeling then the usual leash but I was able to adjust to it easily, and felt that it gave me a great deal of control. Gizmo seems to be very comfortable wearing the Chest Plate Harness. He moves easily in it, doesn’t fidget or try to wiggle out of it , and it stays put and does not roll around on his back.

We’ve been using the EZYDOG equipment regularly for about 6 weeks now, and both Gizmo and I are are very pleased with its performance. Gizmo struts out proudly, looking quite stylish and greeting all we encounter in his usual goofy terrier manner, but still in control. I walk easily, happy that I’m no longer pulling and tugging.  Bottom line is that we love our EZYDOG harness & leash and plan to be using them for a long time.

GIZMO’S GRADE: “A” for quality workmanship, ease of use, comfort and peace of mind.

*NB: While these products were provided free of charge for evaluation purposes, I received no compensation for this review. All opinions are mine alone, offered freely.*

This post is part of the SATURDAY PET BLOGGER HOP hosted by Two Little Cavaliers , Life With Dogs and Confessions of the Plume . This is is a weekly event to help you connect with other Pet Bloggers. Hop on over, add your own link and check out the other blogs hopping this week.

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to GIZMO RECOMMENDS…EZYDOG HARNESS & LEASH

  1. Kroten says:

    The harness looks great…and so do you 🙂
    We turtles never have a harness

  2. Great review, Gizmo! We can’t get enough of your adorable face:-)

  3. Loy says:

    I’ve never used a harness. But glad there are some good ones out there if I should need one!

    • Gizmo says:

      Harnesses are good with a pulling dog so as not to keep putting pressure on the neck…very good for training…and when I first adopted gizmo he came with kennel cough…vet said harness only, no collar till he was healthy again

  4. Hey Gizmo, Jet here. Hi Miss JG.

    Great minds Gizmo… check this post out… http://heyitsjethere.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/waste-management/ The only downside is that the leash did not wear well, it frayed almost immediately. We’re still using it, however, Mom was bummed about the fraying.

    • Gizmo says:

      Great minds indeed Jet…we iz both very smart dogs indeed 🙂 So far our EZYDOG stuff is wearing very well…haven’t noticed any fraying…I might do an update on durability in few months.

  5. josh says:

    thanks for the review. the pictures were especially helpful. i’ve been looking for something a little bit more secure than a step-in harness. i stopped using the puppia because it was too hot for our dog and decided to go with a strap based harness instead of cloth. we arr currently using a premier pet sure fit but i don’t like the placement of the leash ring. it’s on the back like the ezdog but instead of being between the straps, it’s behind them. it doesn’t feel right when i pull. i think i’ll give ezdog a try.

Leave a Reply

