MAKING AN OLD YEAR’S RESOLUTION

Everyone makes a New Year’s Resolution, but here, today I’m making an Old Year’s Resolution. I will publish something here on this blog every day this month.

I’m pretty new to blogging and do feel like I have a lot to learn. Recently I’ve been looking for ways to hone my blogging chops and a post by AdventureJess  over at You Did What With Your Weiner got me thinking. What if I committed to writing and publishing something every day for 30 days? Do I have enough to say? What would I write about? Will I make the time to write every day? What if I’m rushed or  “not in the mood” or what if my brain is just empty that day? Could I still do it?

What intrigues me is the name of this challenge – it’s called “30 Days of Imperfection” and the point is to move away from that need for everything to be “just right” and learn to fly free sometimes. It’s a scary concept…will I embarrass myself? What if  I publish something inane? Will I bore people? And once I commit will I follow through? What if I miss a day? Well, I guess that’s all part of being imperfect.

After mulling it over for a few days I decided to go for it…So here I am publicly stating that I WILL write something every day for the month of December. It will be a good way to end the year, and give me a great head start and fresh perspective to start off 2013.

My brain has been on overdrive the last few days thinking about topics for posts. I’ve also been giving a lot of thought to my “voice”…who am I and what am I really trying to say here? Why did I start this blog in the first place and what do I hope to accomplish with it? I have a feeling that requiring myself to write everyday will help answer some of these questions. And I’ve started keeping a list of topics for posts…ideas have been popping up at the oddest moments and I’ve tried to note them down before I forget.

I hope you’ll follow me along this journey.

This post is part of the Saturday Pet Bloggers Blog Hop hosted by Two Little Cavaliers, Life With Dogs & Confessions of the Plume .  Hop on over to visit with a great group of fellow bloggers , add  your own link, and see what everyone is talking about today.

Saturday pet-blogger-hop-badge

 

 

 

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to MAKING AN OLD YEAR’S RESOLUTION

  1. Hey Giz, Jetty here. Hi Miss JG.

    What a pawesome idea! We committed to writing everyday as a way to lift our spirits after we lost my beloved golden sister, Koko in September 2011. Aside from 12 days, we’ve met our commitment.

    Sometimes the ideas flow easily and sometimes they require a prod or a trigger here and there. You’ll be surprised what pops up. The imperfection part is key and we look forward to seeing how your “voice” unfolds. 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      Hiya Jet & Lori…Thanks so much for the encouragement. Since I got serious about this blog I’ve made new friends and connections I hadn’t anticipated…Writing every day might be hard, but I have a feeling it will only bring good things…Have a great Saturday! *snoogles*

  2. Nanny McFur says:

    I like this challenge!

  3. dawn says:

    It is hard to get over that fear of imperfection. I blame it on school and the constant effort to get As. I want everything to be perfect. I’ve gotten better and challenging myself to post everyday for 25 days last year (for Christmas) helped. Not every post was an epic tale, but the effort really helped me loosen up about my posts.

    Good luck with your challenge…and have fun with it!

    • Gizmo says:

      Thank you for the good wishes…it helps to hear that others have the same questions, and that this type of challenge has helped them find their rhythm…I’m looking forward to seeing how it goes

  4. Woof! Woof! That’s great. We did that once but it was the month of June. Planning to do it again maybe next year … we got lots to share but TIME and we got family visiting us. Well looking forward on reading your posts. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    • Gizmo says:

      Hiya Sugar…Time…that’s always a problem isn’t it? so many things to do, but time seems to run short…Been working on a schedule that should allow writing time for me on a daily basis…it’s not that much of an adjustment…more like setting a priority, which is not something I’m particularly good at

  5. Loy says:

    Hey Gizmo, Good luck with your 30 day challenge! I think you will find that the more you write, the more you will want to write AND the easier it will become. You are wise to keep an idea journal. That way on ‘bad’ days you will have some ideas to choose from. However, I’ve found that some of my best ideas come while I’m walking my dog, folding laundry or, YIKES, vacuuming my rugs. Your voice is already beginning to emerge and it sounds pretty good. As for imperfection…one of the things you will learn as a full-time writer is that nothing is ever perfect enough so don’t sweat it! Do the best you can, and move on. HAVE FUN!

    • Gizmo says:

      Thank you for those kind words…My training in writing, such as it was, was in legal writing, so no real chance for an individual voice to emerge. I’ve always wanted to try writing in a more personal style. I know you’re a “real” writer so your encouragement means a lot to me. And right now I have postits and scraps of paper with ideas stashed everywhere…gonna have to put them all together before I lose them 🙂

  6. Emmadog says:

    Good luck with your challenge. Mom and I decided 2-3 posts a week was good when we started blogging – we post daily on facebook, twitter and pinterest. Mom says it all takes so much time. We admire those that do post daily 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      Thank you Emma…Mom does tweet for me every day, but we don’t “do” FB these days…She does her own thing on Pinterest…mostly food and crochet stuff, but not every day…The challenge will take a lot of time but I think it’s gonna be worth it for us at this time in our blogging life *snoogles*

  7. Hi Gizmo. I am glad you decided to take the leap and join us. I will give you one “cheater” tip about the way we are doing the challenge. I guess you could say the challenge is really to POST every day. Some days I have a lot of ideas so I will write them all and schedule the posts for the future. That allows for the days when you just don’t fee like it. I am having so much fun with this though I have two problems: 1) I am super excited about my posts and ideas and, like a child at Christmas, I am having a hard time waiting until “publish day”. 2) I find that I AM writing almost every day so I am ending up with a lot of scheduled posts to keep track of. The latter might allow me to take a couple of days off around Christmas though….if I can stand it 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      Hello…I’m actually getting pretty excited about the challenge, but it’s funny you mention pre-scheduling…This morning I was thinking that tomorrow would be a good day to write, but it occurred to me that pre-scheduling might be cheating…so glad you clarified that for me! 🙂 I have started a list of ideas as they occur to me (in the weirdest places and a the strangest times) so that on “slow” days I have something to fall back on for inspiration…I will try and write every day so that writing becomes a habit for me. They say it takes 30 days to form a habit so by January I should be in the groove…Thanks for cluing me in to this challenge!

      PS glad i finally spotted your twitter handle

  8. Laura Bruner says:

    Don’t worry, Gizmo! There are always a ton of post topics that pop up with a dog in the house! Like for instance, my mischief monday post was waiting for me this morning when I woke up haha! Best of luck, but I am sure you won’t need it! 🙂

  9. Gizmo says:

    Thank you! With the support I’ve gotten I’m feeling a lot more confident *snoogles*

  10. Oskar says:

    Good luck, I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

  11. Lynda Fisher says:

    Hi, Gizmo. This is BJ; thanks for visiting by blog If that’s you on the banner, then you and I look alike. I’m a mixed terrier and according to Lynda, I have a terrier personality. At 13 i’ve slowed down a little but I’m still an imp. rrruf, rrruf. (That’s my bark.)

    Your idea of forcing yourself to write every day is a challenge worth taking.
    I help Lynda write the blog and we’re having the same problem with having something to write about.

    • Gizmo says:

      Hi BJ & Lynda! Thanks for coming by…We do kind of look alike don’t we? Mom & I look forward to getting to know you both better. *snoogles*

  12. fati says:

    The Importance Of A Dog’s Diet

    http://your-dogs-diet.blogspot.com

  13. Pingback: WHAT A DIFFERENCE A MONTH MAKES | Terrier Torrent

Leave a Reply

