GET TO KNOW “TWO EARS & A TAIL” – PET BLOGGERS GIFT EXCHANGE

Thanks to Life With DogsConfessions of the Plume and Two Little Cavaliers for hosting the Saturday Blog Hop.

saturday blog hop

While I’m talking about blog hops, Chanukah starts this evening at sundown and continues for eight nights. A group of pet bloggers will be posting about the holiday, it’s meaning and traditions during that time. You can follow along by visiting the Chanukah Blog Crawl each  day to learn a bit more about how we celebrate our holiday. Gizmo and I will be posting about our local community Chanukah celebration. For all there is to know about Chanukah visit here.

crawlbadge1

Pamela over on Something Wagging This Way Comes had a great idea – a Pet Bloggers Gift Exchange.  The idea is to get to know a new blogger and tell everyone how great they are. I thought this was a super plan and signed up right away. After being randomly matched with a fellow blogger the instructions were to “shower your fellow online animal lover with encouragement and compliments,” and then link to Something Wagging This Way Comes so others could read about the blog we discovered.

Gizmo & I were matched up with Lynda and BJ, the authors of  Two Ears and a Tail  . This was a new blog to us so we’ve spent some time in the archives getting to know our new furriends. I was hooked on Lynda’s posts from the start. I felt like I was reading her diary, and by the time I finished reading through the archives I felt like I knew her well. Though we’ve never met and live very different lives I found we have a great deal in common.

Lynda was at a low point on August 22, 2000 when she visited the 59 st. Humane Society in NYC and was chosen by adorable terrier BJ to be his new  mom.  In our case, I had recently lost my long-time companion Bruno to a heart attack and was finding my home a sad and lonely place without a dog, so I visited our County’s Animal Control shelter and though I’d never even considered a tiny terrier, once Gizmo gave me those sad puppy eyes I was hooked furever.

bj pillow3 crop

We share a sense of humor – we both love the Traveler’s Insurance terrier burying a bone TV ad and BJ did too.  I think BJ and the Traveler’s dog kind of look alike, don’t you?

We both have a deep hatred of those who abuse animals . We both pay close attention to the welfare of our dogs and do whatever we can to make their lives happy, safe and comfortable. We both are unhappy when our family is not as welcoming to our furriends as we would wish. And we both have Jewish dogs who celebrate Chanukah.

The continuing saga of BJ’s adoption, in his own words,  tells  the story of  “a dog that went from being homeless on the streets of NYC, to a cage at the Humane Society of NY, to a cozy home in the most expensive zip code in the country. ” As BJ says, “How great is that ” Here’s Chapter I  and Chapter II. I’m eagerly awaiting Chapter III, where BJ promises to tell us about Lynda’s  struggles to keep BJ with her.

BJ-snow 7

The one big  difference between us is that I love to cook and Lynda “dusts her stove”  , but that’s an easy one to overlook. 🙂

Getting to know Lynda and BJ has enforced my belief that the bond between humans and their animal companions, at its best and highest, is a universal one of mutual love and support. The lives of both are enriched immensely  I am proud to belong to the family of humans that knows and understands this, and I’m glad I’ve had this opportunity to meet and know another member of the family.

bj new chair blog

Please take the time to visit Lynda & BJ over at Two Ears and a Tail. You won’t be disappointed.

UPDATE ON LYNDA & BJ:  Lynda & BJ had a bit of a spill the other day and can really use your support. Stop by there today and let them feel the love.

And of course take time to meet all the bloggers sharing gifts of encouragement and love at the Pet Bloggers Gift Exhangethis season.

Pet-Blogger-Gift-Exchange1

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to GET TO KNOW “TWO EARS & A TAIL” – PET BLOGGERS GIFT EXCHANGE

  1. What a great post about Lynda and BJ. I love how you discovered all these commonalities with someone you were paired with at random.

    Great job and I’m sure Lynda is thrilled to have made a terrific new friend in you and Gizmo.

    Thanks for joining in the Pet Blogger Exchange and spreading some love and encouragement.

    • Gizmo says:

      Thank you Pamela! I did enjoy getting to know Lynda & BJ and only hope I did them justice. The Gift Exchange was a super idea…Count us in for next year.

  2. That’s a great idea and you get to meet new buddies 🙂 I love the dusting the cooker part..lol
    Have a great Friday xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Gizmo says:

      We had a great time making new furriends and we’re meeting other new bloggers by visiting the posts in the blog hop…It was a wonderful idea…*snoogles*

  3. catchatcaren says:

    this was a wonderful post! We are on our way to visit them right now! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  4. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hi Gizmo,

    You’ve left me wanting more, I need to go and check out BJ’s blog!! 🙂

    Big wags,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  5. Thanks for introducing us to a new blog. We will go check it out.

  6. myrvinglife says:

    The match up sounds great! Thanks for leaving a comment on our blog!

  7. goldenwoofs says:

    Woof! Woof! LOVE this Gift exchange idea. Golden Thanks for sharing Lydia andBj to us. Will be visiting them. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  8. Rebecca says:

    What a GREAT idea – and a fun way to get to know a fellow blogger a little better 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      I loved Pamela’s idea as soon as I read about it…It’s interesting learning about a person & their dog of course by reading their writing…I’ve enjoyed it thanks for stopping by

  9. How cool is that! Great idea. I enjoyed reading about Lydia and BJ.

  10. Hey Giz, Jet here. Hi Miss JG.

    You two outdid yourselves on this post, you really did. We appreciated how you paralleled your experiences. We can’t wait to pop over and visit Lydia and BJ because of you and your post. A beautiful holiday gift, wrapped in a post.

    • Gizmo says:

      Thank you Jetty & Miss Lori…That means a lot…Wasn’t sure how to best talk about another blogger so I’m glad you think I did OK. *snoogles*

  11. What a lovely post! On my way to visit Lydia and BJ. Happy Chanukah!

  12. Hi friends! We stopped by to wish you a happy Channukah. Purrs from Ateret, Livia and Abbi.

  13. Carol Bryant says:

    I am so glad to hear about this blog and having learned of it from this blog and the great idea generated by Pamela to do this, I am going to be one extra busy reader!

    • Gizmo says:

      I loved the idea of the Pet Blogger Gift Exchange…I’ve found a number of new blogs I really enjoy, including Lynda & BJ’s …It’s been a lot of fun meeting all these new folks

  14. Jodi says:

    What I loved is that even though you live in different areas of the country, you could find a common ground to begin a friendship, the world needs more of this. Great job!!

    • Gizmo says:

      Thank you so much…it was an interesting project learning about a brand new person but i enjoyed doing it and will be keeping up with Lynda & BJ from now on 🙂

  15. What a great post about Lynda and BJ – they are new to me so I’m heading over there now to get to know them better. “Dusts her stove”! Bwahaha! That sense of humor alone makes me want to tag along for the ride. 🙂

    And we’re pleased to have found your through the hop as well. Lots of new blogs, bloggers and pets on our horizon as a result. What a fabulous idea Pamela spurred.

    • Gizmo says:

      Hiya Bella! Thanks for stopping by…The Gift Exchange hop has been a great experience…I’ve learned more about some of the bloggers I already followed and have had the pleasure of meeting a number of new ones. Pamela deserves “appaws” for getting this started…

Leave a Reply

