ON DOGS & WALKS

A DOG IS ONE OF THE REMAINING REASONS WHY SOME PEOPLE CAN BE PERSUADED TO GO FOR A WALK.    ~ O.A. BATTISTA

Today, on Thankful Thursday, I am grateful to have a dog that loves nothing more than a long walk in the woods.

When life closes in, when stress mounts, there’s nothing better than a long walk in the woods. Sometimes, no matter how much I know I’ll enjoy it, it’s hard to work up the motivation to gather the gear and make the drive…and then I think about how much Gizmo loves our adventures, and that’s enough to get me up and going.

I’d been hiking with my dogs for about ten years, when I adopted Gizmo. My previous canine hiking companions were always large dogs and I never doubted their ability to handle the trails we were on. Gizmo’s a smallish dog, only 20#, and at first I was concerned that hiking 6 or 7 miles might be too much for him. I needn’t worry…when we get outdoors he becomes a super dog. His step quickens, his ears are up and all  his senses are engaged…he is a fearless explorer leading his mom on a trek to fun and excitement. It brings me great joy to see him having so much fun. As we hike along the trail tension melts…I breathe deeply and  enjoy the peace and solitude. I notice the beauty of my surroundings. I feel good.

I do enjoy hiking with friends, but there’s always the imperative to talk and be social. When I hike with Gizmo I can truly relax…he demands nothing more of me than the chance to “be a dog”. This is a gift for which I am truly thankful.

O O O hike4

Thanks to PepiSmartDog for hosting the Thankful Thursday Blog Hop.  Hop over and see what others are thankful for today.

Thankful-Thursday-Logo-21-150x150

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to ON DOGS & WALKS

  1. Gizmo, you are one dirty little dog! Which lets us know – without a doubt – that you really have a good time on your walks! 🙂

  2. It’s true, we dogs sure get our peeps off the couch, rain or shine! We too do long walks and my peep even calls our long trail walks on Sundays, her reflecting and thinking walk…me I just sniff, run and enjoy the time together.
    Maggie

    • Gizmo says:

      Part of our job is to remind our hoomins to be happy with the simple and beautiful things around them…They get so busy they forget…*snoogles*

  3. catchatcaren says:

    and I have a dog that HATES walks…go figure

  4. Kristine says:

    I could not have said it better. There is nothing like a long walk to clear and ease the mind. I am so glad Gizmo enjoys the outdoors as much as you do!

  5. We love hiking too! Onyx more than Twiggy because she can overheat much easier, but hikes are the best. Happy hiking!

  6. I love seeing Gizmo posing in a tree. That definitely wins the prize for the most unique pose. 🙂

    Whenever you write about Gizmo’s spirit on the trail, my heart soars. Knowing someone (even virtually) who appreciates the spirit of their dog without making assumptions about his size is a blessing for which I am thankful today.

    Speaking of small dogs on the trail, did you ever read Following Atticus? It’s the true story of a newspaper publisher who hikes the Adirondack high peaks (summer and winter) with his miniature Schnauzer. If you don’t know it, I wrote about it here: http://www.somethingwagging.com/2012/08/30/following-atticus-book-review/. I have a feeling you’d love Tom and Atticus.

    • Gizmo says:

      Thank you so much Pamela…Moving from large dogs to a small dog I had to make a choice…treat him small & he’d act small…treat him like a big dog and he’d grow into the role…and he certainly has…he’s a fearless adventurer that brings me constant joy

      I read your review then hopped over to my library website and …for joy!…they have the book…it’s on my request list now…I’ll let you know after I’ve read it Thank you for that tip

  7. oh I wish I could go hiking with you ….but for this “rapid stream” I need wellies;o)

  8. rottrover says:

    Gizmo, our mom could have written this post!! We help her relax on hikes and get into “the zone” whatever that means. You wear mud extremely well!

    -Bart and Ruby

  9. Gizmo…it doesn’t look like there is anything you couldn’t do! You look like a pup with a lot of stamina.

  10. Yesterday, her in door’z waz all strezzed ( she haz it easy ) on wiff me lead, we went to the big field, it waz just a mud bog, but boy did we have fun 🙂 Best therapy in the world 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Gizmo says:

      Mollie I can only guess how much fun it would be to take you out for a run…and I guess you’re a mudder too, just like Gizmo…you two would have a glorious time getting totally yucky together…I’m glad your antics made your mom feel better! *snoogles*

  11. Ann Paws says:

    Looks like Gizmo is having tons of fun on that hike! I’ll admit that I hate exercise! I need to get back in shape hehe

    • Gizmo says:

      Gizmo always has fun whatever he’s doing…he’s just that kind of dog…he finds joy in everything and is kind enough to share that joy with me…I don’t look at hiking with him as “exercise” (yuck!) but more of a walking meditation…for serenity not physical fitness…

  12. Hey Giz, Jetty here. Hi Miss JG.

    What a beautiful commentary on walking with your prior K9s and now Gizmo, Miss JG. We love your comment above… walking meditation… perfectly put… we MUST come visit your area… Excuse me a moment… MOMMMMM when can we visit Gizmo and Miss JG and go hiking???? Huh, Huh???

    • Gizmo says:

      Jetty you are welcome any time pal…I will even take you to the places where you’ve seen the pictures…and you can bring JJ and Miss L too..we guys can let JJ chase us and try to catch us and the hoomins can tawk or meditate or sumfin… *bigguysnoogles*

  13. Gizmo is mostly terrier. You shouldn’t have any doubts about Gizmo’s ability to do anything he wants to particularly when it involves getting dirty and muddy.

    Gizmo and you are a perfect match.

    • Gizmo says:

      🙂 I always remember the quote that goes “We all have the dogs we deserve”…I must have been a very good dog mom in the past to have a dog like Gizmo <3<3<3

  14. Do you really like to walk that much, Gizmo? TW wishes she could walk me!

    • Gizmo says:

      Yes I do! I go twice as far as mom does cause I run ahead to make sure the trail is safe and then come back to tell here all about it…I go for hours, then a quick power nap and I’m ready to go again! *snoogles*

  15. PepiSmartDog says:

    Hi Gizmo,
    You look like your having a ton of fun! Good to see you leading the way – thru a river ! BOL! I used to be mum’s running partner before I went OTRB; just like you I used to look it too. Thanks for supporting Thankful Thursday buddy. Happy Holidays! :=o) XXX

    • Gizmo says:

      Hiya Pepi! Thanks fur coming by…I know you’ve been busy lately showing Marley & Dougal around…Bet you’re still leading hikes OTRB…*snoogles*

  16. I love walking the dogs, especially when we get out in the woods. Roxy is 7lbs and can go forever.

  17. snowieners says:

    That looks like a lot of fun and Gizmo is very cute.

  18. Loy says:

    I agree, walking a dog is wonderful. Medicinal even. This has been a very stressful week, with too much going on. Still, last night it was raining pretty hard, and my dog and I went for a long walk anyway. We both felt sooooooooo much better–even if though we were both wet!

    • Gizmo says:

      Loy, a little rain never hurt anyone…at least that’s what I keep telling Gizmo 😉 But a walk with a dog, no phones, no computers, just silence…it’s always going to make you feel better

  19. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Gizmo, you’re Mom’s right, you are a Super Dog!! Go buddy Go!! 🙂

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  20. Garth Riley says:

    Sounds like Gizmo Momma is a lot like my momma! We enjoy hiking with our hiking buds, but we also really enjoy hiking just the two of us. Momma says it’s good for her head to get out on the trails, and that she can relax and enjoy the surroundings more when there are no other humans along. And the photo walking through the water reminds me of my momma — a little water won’t stop her!

    Before we started hiking with our Dog Scouts friends, we also thought small dogs wouldn’t be good hikers. We couldn’t have been more wrong! I have a buddy who is a long-haired miniature dachshund who looks so pretty he looks like he should be riding around in somebody’s purse. But not him! He has no problem at all keeping up with the rest of us! We also hike with a Westie, some Jack Russell Terriers, and other dachshunds — all of whom have proved to be just as trail-worthy and tough as us labs and goldens and sheppies! In fact, we haven’t met a dog yet who doesn’t enjoy a good hike in the woods! We spend so much time trying to fit into the human world, it’s awesome to get a chance to just be dogs. I bet Gizmo and I would have so much fun hiking together!

    your pal,
    Garth

    • Gizmo says:

      You’ve said it all right Garth pal…We dawgs love to just be dawgs and size never matters…You can come hiking with me anytime Garth…I show you lots of good places with *mud*! BOL!

Leave a Reply

