Christmas Cheer for Homeless Pets

Today Mom took me to my favorite store, The Doggie Bag Boutique, so I could choose my ornament from The Giving Tree.  The Doggie Bag has partnered with the Humane Society of Polk County , our county’s only no-kill shelter, to bring some holiday cheer to anipals still seeking their furever  homes.

When you visit The Doggie Bag you can choose an ornament from The Giving Tree. Each ornament contains a request from The Humane Society.  The list of items requested ranges from cleaning products to food and litter for the critters. Once you’ve gathered your  items you return them to the collection area  at the store. Heather told us that the Doggie Bag’s customers have been very generous. The Humane Society has already collected a huge load of donated items and the area under the Giving Tree is already crowded with bags and boxes piled high.

First I said Hi! to my pals Miss Heather , Miss Rhonda & sweet Lily, then headed over to choose my ornament. OThere’s so many choices here…how can I choose?

O

I looked them all over but couldn’t choose…I finally decided on six of them. I asked mom and she said it was OK we could get them all.OMom & I went off to shop for our items. I  had to supervise what we purchased to make sure mom got all the right things. O OK mom I think we have everything now. O Now it was time to head back to The Doggie Bag and unload our haul under the Giving Tree. When we were done Miss Rhonda was nice enough to provide cookies for a couple of hard working dogs. O O

After our well-deserved cookie break, mom and I headed home while sweet Lily settled in for a well-deserved nap.O

I feel good about what we did today…in fact, I made mom promise that we’ll do it again for her birthday and my gotcha day.  I can’t think of a better way for us to celebrate than to give a little of what we have to my furriends still in need.

Gizmo out!

Thanks to Life With DogsConfessions of the Plume and Two Little Cavaliers for hosting the Saturday Blog Hop.

saturday blog hop

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Christmas Cheer for Homeless Pets

  1. Oh Gizmo…what a WONDERFUL thing you and mom did buying all those needed items for pets in need! I love the idea of a Giving Tree for pets! Hmmmmm…I think I feel an idea brewing. You may have inspired something!!!!

    Have a great holiday!
    Your pal,
    Oz

    • Gizmo says:

      Oz, the Giving Tree is a super idea from our friend Heather who owns The Doggie Bag & it’s one that we would love to see spread…Please let us know if you get something like it started *givingsnoogles* to you my furriend!

  2. Heather says:

    Thank you so very much Gizmo for your kindness! We love when you come in to visit, you always make us smile:-) Please be sure and tell your Mom how much we appreciate her taking you shopping and helping with your very generous donation to the Giving Tree.

    • Gizmo says:

      Thank you Heather…Gizmo & I both love coming into the Doggie Bag…It’s always a good time for both of us and we’re so glad you’re here in Lakeland

  3. Jodi Stone says:

    Hey Gizmo, thanks for joining FUF, what a lovely idea you have down there, I think I’ll have to work on getting something like that up here. 😉

  4. What a creative way to have people give exactly what is needed. You and your mom were very generous in choosing six ornaments.

    Have a wonderful holiday.

  5. Cotton says:

    Gizmo, you and your mom is wonderful!
    How nice of The Doggie Bag to visit the shelter too
    Cotton

    • Gizmo says:

      Heather & Rhonda are great dog people and are super for helping out like this…That’s why it’s Gizmo’s favorite store (that and the cookies of course!) *snoogles*

  6. Zena says:

    I love this idea. We’ve had a bin outside our supermarket for the shelter but I love the idea of a giving tree – or some way of donating all the year around.
    Maybe its something I could talk to the local pet shop about 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      Please do…this is an idea that can easily spread…Large chains have their charities and they do make an impact, but mom & I try to always “shop local” if we can and any local pet store can easily be active in their community with an idea like this…We sure hope it spreads! *snoogles*

  7. I love this!! What a fun way to gather need supplies, especially because it’s good for any/every budget. Great photos! 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      It was a fun day for both me & Gizmo…We love hanging out with Heather & Rhonda & Lily…There were some big ticket items on the Giving Tree, but most things were within almost anyone’s budget…And we know that every donation helps a lot…It would also be a great project for children and we hope the idea can spread

  8. That is a fantastic idea! And good for you for thinking of all those animals that need help.

    • Gizmo says:

      The best part is that it’s so easy to do…And it can be adapted for all occasions and locations …all you need is a space to store dontaions and a way to transport them

  9. You are the best supervisor ever, Gizmo! … and I’ll bet all the doggies of The Doggie Bag are very happy now ;o)

  10. haopee2 says:

    Hello. It’s nice meeting you.

    We’re not a big fan of WordPress so we liked your page and followed you through NetworkedBlogs.

    Your mom is very generous. I think it’s awesome to help the homeless in Christmas.

    Huggies and Cheese,

    Haopee of my dogs love me

    • Gizmo says:

      Thanks so much for coming by today…Mom is not very good with WordPress, but she’s trying…Thanks so much for following me…Mom added you to her Google Reader *snoogles*

  11. Laura Bruner says:

    How wonderful! Thank you to you and your mom for spreafing some holiday cheer to homeless pets! You are an awesome dog, Gizmo!

    • Gizmo says:

      Since mom got me from a shelter (can you believe some dumb hoomin didn’t’ want me?) I try to do what I can fur my furriends still waiting…Thanks fur visiting me! *snoogles*

  12. maxwellnfaraday says:

    Maxwell: Dood, that’s downright PAWSOME of you! We’re inspired by your generous nature! You done good today!

    • Gizmo says:

      Thank you so much guys! And the best part fur me was that I had fun! And got cookies! You should get something like the Giving Tree started where you are *snoogles*

  13. HI Gizmo, We just had to pop over and find out for ourselves what a wonderful pup you are. The Giving Tree is a PAWSOME idea. Bet all the recipients are going to be so excited. We will add you to our reading list. If you get a chance stop by and give us a bark. gracie and Schatzie (the girlz)

    • Gizmo says:

      Welcome Gracie and Schatzie! I’m so glad you came by…I loved playing the Giving Tree game and hope the idea spreads all over…Mom says we can visit you too! *happynewfurriendsnoogles*

  14. Reuben says:

    Gizmo, you and your mama is heroes, helping all those dogs and even cats who is in need. I salutes you, sir. Thank you for doing a visiting of my blog today, I no can wait to hear of all your adventurings!

    merry festivitals,
    Reuben

    • Gizmo says:

      Hiya Reuben!My pal Garth said I had to meet you and he was right…Thanks fur da kind words, btu we just doin’ our little bit to help and having fun doin’ it We be seein’ you soon! *snoogles*

  15. Hey Giz, Jetty here. Hi Miss JG.

    Dude, what a mitzvah you did… actually mitzvah x 6! What a clever idea…

    Sending you Jetty manly man chest bumps and JJ hugs of appreciation.

    • Gizmo says:

      Jetty pal…truth be it was a mitzvah fur me & mom to be able to help, even a little…And the idea of the Giving Tree really did make it fun…I want to get Heather to make it a year round thing for birthdays and gotcha’s and stuff…I’m gonna get mom to offer to help with it since it is for the NO KILL shelter and that’s a good thing…Two *highpaws* to you Jetty and *snoogles* fur Miss L and JJ

  16. What a sweet thing to do and you even picked some cat ornaments. You are so kind. xoxox

  17. Garth Riley says:

    What a great way to celebrate the holiday, Gizmo! You and your momma are very generous to help out puppies and kitties less fortunate than we are. I’m glad that you supervise the shopping – it must be so cool to be able to fit into a shopping cart!

    your pal,
    Garth

  18. Pingback: FOLLOW-UP FRIDAY BLOG HOP | Terrier Torrent

Leave a Reply

