THIS IS FLORIDA? – Mischief Monday

This was the weather  here yesterday  about 8 AM …It was even colder, 31*, when we first got up. This might not seem too   bad for some of you, but hey, I’m a Florida dawg!

COLD

It reminds me of a geocaching hike that mom & I took last winter on an even colder day, so today I’m calling mischief on the weather.  We were geocaching that day around Lake Louisa State Park in Clermont, FL. It was so cold  that I wore my sweater that mom crocheted for me. It almost looks like there’s snow on the ground, but it’s really just white sugar sand.

O

The funny thing in the second photo is a smudge pot . The ice is from the water that is sprayed to help keep the citrus trees from freezing 

OOOOOOOO

Happy Christmas to all my furriends and their hoomins…hope that Santa Paws brings you lots of toys and treats and warm cuddly *snoogles*

Gizmo out!

Thanks to Snoopy’s Dog Blog,  Alfie’s BlogMy Brown Newfies and Luna, A Dog’s Life…for sponsoring the hop!  Click on any of the sponsors to join the hop.

Monday-Mischief-Button-150x150-px

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to THIS IS FLORIDA? – Mischief Monday

  1. RumpyDog! says:

    Merry Christmas my friend!

  2. Roo says:

    Oh Gizmo the icicles are beautiful! Wow! Thanks for takin the photos pal 😀

    Wishin you and your family a very Merry Christmas! 😀

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

    • Gizmo says:

      Not sure is if gets that cold over on the coast…They were quite a surprise to us that morning Happy Christmas to you and your family Roo from Gizmo & Beth

  3. Dogs N Pawz says:

    Those icicles are awesome! Have a very Merry Christmas!

  4. Loy says:

    Great pictures, Gizmo! :Happy Monday!!

  5. rottrover says:

    Stay warm, Gizmo!!

    -Bart and Ruby

  6. Brrrr…good thing you got that warm sweater. Stay warm and have a very Merry Christmas!!

    • Gizmo says:

      Yes it is…don’t need it often but when I do I’m so glad mom made it for me Happy Christmas to the girlz and their family from Gizmo & Beth

  7. Hey Giz, Jet here. Hi Miss JG.

    we forgot you’re in the Citrus Zone! Make sure you bundle up and keep Miss JG warm and cozy in the house. We’re kind of happy about the cold snap because in order to get a great litchi season you need 3 nights colder than 45 degrees consecutively!

    • Gizmo says:

      You have lichis? Let’s trade…I’ve got sweet seedless pink grapefruits…will that do? Hope all is well with you tonight and you have a chace to relax a bit

  8. Garth Riley says:

    wow! hard to believe it can get that cold in Florida! it’s strange seeing ice on orange trees!

    • Gizmo says:

      Not often but usually once a year we get a couple of really cold days, either December or January…you’ve never been down here in winter…i even saw snow once but that was back about 1986 Happy Christmas Garth to you and your family from Gizmo & Beth

  9. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Gizmo,

    You sound like my Mum, she always winged when it’s in the 30s in the mornings, we had a warm 45F this morning for our run, but that was after an incredible amount of rain yesterday – and yes, she moaned about that too!! 🙂

    Have a wonderful time over the holidays 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  10. Brrr, I’m cold just looking at that ice. I guess if the oranges freeze, the prices go up again.

    • Gizmo says:

      Yup…hence the smudge pots et. al. BUT the real problem is urban sprawl This county used to be all groves all the time and now probably 60% of them are gone so we can have more unsold, empty, ramshackle “developments” going into foreclosure…highest foreclosure rate in the state and one of highest in nation due to no growth management and developer greed prior to 2006…sorry i’ll get off my soapbox now LOL! Happy Holidays!

      • Gizmo says:

        I know i tried to add link this am before coffee…bad move…so i had to do it again – second one works fine … thing about cold weather here is that it doesn’t last…should be about 78* tomorrow…Enjoy a safe & peaceful holiday tomorrow!

  11. bjpup says:

    It’s BJ. Gizmo, I tried to leave a comment and it said the page could not be found. Anyway we loved the pictures. It was colder in Florida than it was in NYC. We felt sorry for the oranges.

    Have a Merry Christmas.

    Love, BJ and Lynda

  12. Jodi says:

    Wow, I didn’t realize it was that cold yesterday, I hope it warmed up fast!!

  13. Pingback: FOLLOW-UP FRIDAY BLOG HOP | Terrier Torrent

Leave a Reply

