RIVER OTTER – Wordless Wednesday

On our Sunday hike Mom & I spotted something quite wonderful…a River Otter…We both stayed very still watching him nibble on some leaves till he went underwater and swam away…

?????????????????????? ??????????????????????

Thanks to BlogPaws for hosting this Wordless Wednesday Blog Hop. Hop on over to join in the fun and see what everyone else has been up to this week.

WordlessWednesday

Here’s our updated ticker for the 30/30 Challenge…Read about the challenge from the link in the sidebar…

exercise2

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to RIVER OTTER – Wordless Wednesday

  1. An otter how cool is that? Have a wonderful wordless Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  2. Many otters in the rivers around here (thanks to a state conservation program), but I’ve never gotten a photo. Bravo!

  3. We love river otters, they are so cute!!

    • Gizmo says:

      This one seemed unaware of us so we got to watch him nibble leaves for a while…I was so pleased that Gizmo just watched quietly and didn’t scare him away

  4. carmapoodale says:

    I would have loved to see that in Pawson.

  5. How cool is that? An otter? Awesome. It’s funny though b/c on our walk on Sunday we saw a beaver taking sticks back to his dam. (And, we never see things like that in the city.)

  6. Hey Giz, Jet here. HI Miss JG.

    We had absolutely no idea otters could live in our state! Mom REALLY wants to see one up close. She’s politely envious of you guys! 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      Hiya Jetty! Yes, mom has known they were here for a long time and has even hiked near places where others spotted them but this was a first for her & I was there to share it with her 🙂 *snoogles* for you , JJ and Miss L

  7. I just think that is so neat that you got to see an otter! We don’t get to see neat things like that on our walks!

  8. How cool Gizmo,

    I’ve never seen one of those, you were very good to stay still 🙂

    Happy New Year buddy,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      Believe Snoopy I was just itching to get into some serious mischief, but I could see how much mom appreciated me being good…and she rewarded me generously with cookies 🙂

  9. catchatcaren says:

    Otters are the cutest and most fun animals ever! How lucky to spot one in pawson!

  10. Jodi says:

    Don’t the river otters know about alligators? That would make me so nervous.

    • Gizmo says:

      This from Wikipedia: The otter has few natural predators when in water. Aquatic predators include the alligator (Alligator mississippiensis), American crocodile (Crocodylus acutus), and killer whale (Orcinus orca), none of which commonly coexist with this otter and thus rarely pose a threat.

      That surprises me because I know that both otters and gators live in Lost Lake where I saw this one…That’s a really good question

  11. BunkThePug says:

    No way! I want to see an otter. What kind of dog is that anyways?

  12. Loy says:

    Way cool, Gizmo! You are inspiring me to search for wild suburban animals! (Although we don’t have anything quite so unusual as river otters–they look so cute!) Happy Wednesday!

    • Gizmo says:

      We do live in a jungle down here…even the most suburban areas have wildlife populations…sadly urbanization is taking away too much of their territory these days

  13. bocciandhisbeefs says:

    Awwwe, what a cute little river otter! Happy New Year, Gizmo!

  14. Dawn Ross says:

    Way cool! I’ve never had the opportunity to see a river otter in the wild before. I bet that was fun. 🙂

  15. Will and Eko says:

    That’s amazing! He looks even bigger than you! Very jealous – we have to go to the zoo to see any otters around here.

    • Gizmo says:

      They’re supposed to get up over 30#…this one was probably about 20# or so from what I could tell from high up … it’s so awesome to watch them when they’re unaware of your presence…next trip you & Eko take come on down to Florida and we’ll show you some “nature” 🙂

  16. Ann Paws says:

    I have never seen a wild otter before! You guys are so lucky.

  17. Gizmo,
    I am still shocked that we have otters in Florida! Who knew?!? Pawesome photos!

  18. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: January 2, 2013 | small house/BIG GARDEN

  19. That is so cool, Gizmo! And awesome to you for staying so calm. Lulu would be going for it!

    Christie from lifewithbeagle.com

    • Gizmo says:

      I don’t know exactly why Gizmo was so good…Maybe he sensed my interest and excitement? For whatever reason he was rewarded heavily for such excellent behavior

  20. Zena says:

    Great photo. The Producer saw an Otter in Canada once when they were on holiday. Every morning it swam past the chalet to build a dam and every evening it swam back again. Cute little fellow 🙂
    You have interesting walks.

    • Gizmo says:

      Mom tries hard to get me out to places where I can really “be a dawg” so we tend to go backwoods & I do get to see a lot of fun stuff…Must have been neat for The Producer to watch that guys progress every day

  21. We’ve never seen one of those. You get to see some really neat things on your adventures.

  22. You just have otters in your rivers where you live?! That’s it. I’m MOVING. I am absolutely in love with otters and I would sit and watch them all day long.

    • Gizmo says:

      Yup we’ve got otters 🙂 And beavers and turtles and gators and manateess Lots of wildlife here in the jungle so c’mon down !

Leave a Reply

