SPROUTS FOR EVERYONE – TASTY TUESDAY

Do you hate Brussels sprouts? Seems like a lot of people say that but I guarantee they’d change their tune if they had Brussels sprout prepared this way…and yes, dogs love them.

In keeping with my S.O.M.P. cooking style this recipe takes about no time to prepare…the trick is to use frozen sprouts…I hear you out there…frozen sprouts are yucky…they always come out mushy and cabbagey and no one likes them…well I’m going teach you the trick to using frozen sprouts…DO NOT DEFROST THEM! 

When you’re in need of a last minute side dish that won’t add to your stress level give this recipe a try.

First,  preheat your oven to 400*. Then dump (see S.O.M.P.) the FROZEN sprouts into a oven-safe pan…Notice the icy look to these sprouts

O

Next, chop and fry up some bacon…this is the amount of bacon I used for the amount of sprouts in the above photo

OWhen the bacon is about half cooked, mix it into the sprouts and put the pan in the oven…Yippee – prep work is done! Leave them in the oven till you see a light brown color to the top of the sprouts…if I remember I give them a stir while they’re cooking, but if you forget, no worries…When you see that nice roasted color take them out of the oven and put in a nice serving bowl. I find it takes about 45″ to get the color that I like.3

I serve mine with a splash of balsamic vinegar. Gizmo gets his plain and he loves them.

O

Please mom, can I have another?

O

Here’s today’s 30/30 challenge ticker:

8

Thanks to Sugar the Golden Retriever and Kol’s Notes for hosting the Tasty Tuesday Blog Hop. Hop on over to see what everyone is cooking today.

TastyTuesday

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to SPROUTS FOR EVERYONE – TASTY TUESDAY

  1. Not Yummy it is green. We have ours plain, or with chestnuts or with bacon or when decadent with both. Srummy yummy the Peeps says. I think anything green is devil food. Say no to green I say. Have a terrific Tuesday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • Gizmo says:

      Molly close your eye and think of BACON! BACON! hides all the green, honest it does…Mom sez adding chestnuts sounds wonderful…She’s like that but chestnuts are very hard to find here…Just remember, BACON! cures all evil

  2. Hey Giz, Jetty here. Hi Miss JG.

    Yup, we’re big fans here at Casa Jetty. We like ours roasted or pan friend with turkey bacon… delish!

    • Gizmo says:

      Hiya Jetty! Howze things at your house…Iz your (bum) healing up? And is Miss L feeling better? i sure hope so and so does Mom…*TastySnoogles* fur you pal

  3. Don’t they make you fart Gizmo..BOL.. I like the bacon, yummy 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  4. kate says:

    Mom LOVES brussels sprouts and dad likes them ok. We have not really tried them for the dogs though

    urban hounds

    • Gizmo says:

      I do try to find ways to add some veggies to Gizmo’s diet and this idea is a winner…he eats as many of these as I give him and asks for more

  5. Hmmm, Gizmo….I have never had Brussel Sprouts (mom has tried to give me one and I turn up my nose at them). However, everything is delicious with BACON!…so maybe I should give this a try.

  6. catchatcaren says:

    That sounds DELICIOUS!! Another good way to make sprouts is to drizzle them with olive oil and garlic and ROAST in the oven on 400 til they are a little crispy…delicious!

  7. Kristine says:

    Those look mighty tasty to me! They are making my stomach grumble and it’s not even time for lunch yet. I love brussels sprouts and I bet combined with bacon they are even better!

    • Gizmo says:

      These are totally great…If there’s any left over they make a great cold salad…And the additon of just a touch of balsamic really perks them up

  8. I like it! If they aren’t cooking to death they are very yummy ;o)

  9. ilovecats says:

    That looks good. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Loy says:

    I must say, the bacon certainly makes them more ‘friendly’! LOL

  11. Woof! Woof! One of my mom’s favorite during Thanksgiving. Lucky you Gizmo. Happy Tasty Tuesday. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  12. FleaByte says:

    Eating brussell sprouts is against my religion, Gizmo. But you make it look good.

  13. Jessica says:

    I love Brussels Sprouts, but my husband does not. He’s such a spoilsport–a vegetarian who doesn’t like very many vegetables.

    • Gizmo says:

      Oh darn…you can’t use the bacon 😦 Have you tried roasting them with lots of garlic and olive oil? Then grate a bunch of Parmesan cheese on top? That might help and they would be yummy that way too.

  14. hates….sprouts? Whaaaaaaat? All the dogs here LOVE THEM. There was almost a scrap in the kitchen on Christmas when I dropped one! (Baby Lu got it first! He’s fast.) Mama loves making brussels sprouts this way, though she usually uses fresh one. YUM!

    • Gizmo says:

      No doubt fresh sprouts are great, but this “quick & easy” recipe using the frozen ones cuts prep to nil…and as long as you put them in the oven frozen they come out really good…excellent when you’re short on time

  15. Will and Eko says:

    Sprouts are the best! In fact, I’ll probably try this recipe this week. Keep spreading the good word

    • Gizmo says:

      Make sure Eko gets his share! And try the ones with OO, garlic & Parm…I’m a huge sprout proponent and love the ease of using the frozen ones

  16. Ann Paws says:

    I tried brussel sprouts finally for the first time on Christmas and really liked them! They were prepared very similar to what you have done here and included bacon. Bacon makes everything better! They were sauteed with some other veggies too but not baked. I’m afraid if I make them, my family wouldn’t eat them! lol

  17. The peeps buy those things from Brussels over the holidays. I’ll have to tell them to try adding bacon cos they never buy bacon.

  18. We love Brussel Sprouts but your recipe makes them sound even yummier.

  19. BJ Pup says:

    Hi, Gizmo, it’s BJ. Doesn’t look like Brussels Sprouts is something you love. Ask your Mom to give you peas. I love peas.

  20. Dang Gizmo! Of all the foods in the world mama has never thought to see if I like brussell sprouts. What was she thinking! Thanks cos now she is gonna see – I hope I likes em but with BACON how can I not?

  21. That’s how my daddy likes his sprouts!!
    I definitely prefer cooked ones, i tried a raw one and it was yucky!

  22. Gizmo,
    Your lucky that your mum likes sprouts so that you get them more than once a year. My mum hates sprouts and only cooks them at Christmas.
    Maggie

  23. Granny says yummy, sprouts but without the bacon, I say yikes to both, but I like you eating the yikes sprouts, Gizmo 🙂

Leave a Reply

