SHOW OFF YOUR DOG’S WAIST–Almost Wordless Wednesday

OOO

Momz gave me a bath today for a reason…not that I forgive her, but at least I know why…There’s a year-long campaign going on over at the Dawg Business blog to Show Off Your Dog’s Waist. I keep trim by daily walks, weekend hikes and having Momz  measure my food and limit my treats…I think she’ doing a great job of it, cause I’m looking pretty buff if I say so myself…

O

O

The idea behind this is to remind everyone that overweight dogs are not cute…they’re at risk for developing serious health problems, including cancer. Jana’s blog post has lots of good information and links on combatting dog obesity. I urge you to visit there, join the campaign and display the badge on your blog this year.

DB-SODW

Today’s 30/30 ticker:

16

BLOGPAWS is our host for the Wordless Wednesday Blog Hop

WordlessWednesday

 

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to SHOW OFF YOUR DOG’S WAIST–Almost Wordless Wednesday

  1. Woof! Woof! Yes I see it and its curvy. We definitely plan to join this blog hop. Golden Tahnks for sharing your bod. Happy Wednesday. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    • Gizmo says:

      Momz does pay attention. When we switched foods a while back I gained some weight…turns out the new food was more calorie dense so we had to adjust my portion size to get me back down to “fighting weight” With all the lovely hikes and swims you take Sugar I know you’re in great shape too

  2. That’s just about the perfect waistline, Gizmo! Mine is pretty neat too, even if I say so myself because of the starvation diet The Typist has me on. Seriously? She should look at her own belly 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      Tell me about it! Here I am practically starving and Momz is munching away whenever she wants…I do twice her distance on our hikes so you think I’d get twice the snacks…I’d like to see her pose in the shower for you all BOL!

  3. You’re looking very trim Gizmo!

  4. Lookin’ good!! Absolutely svelte 🙂

  5. Clowie says:

    You look great wrapped up in the paw prints! Your waistline looks perfect, too! I can see why they took the photograph when you were wet. It’s difficult to see my waistline, they usually feel me to check it’s still there. I don’t know if I can persuade them to get a camera near me when I’m wet – I’m very good at shaking!

    • Gizmo says:

      The pawprint towel was a prize from our twitter pal @NancyCakeFace With all my fluff it’s tough to see my bod when i’m dry…That is my normal bath position…I stand facing away from Momz, trying to ignore the whole thing…This time she snuck up with the camera…I bet when you shake there’s some serious water flying Clowie!

  6. Great idea Gizmo. I keep fit chasing squirrels and assorted vermin. Keeps me busy. Great waist pal. Yikes a bath and it is not Spring yet! Have a wonderful Wednesday.
    Best wishes Mollly

    • Gizmo says:

      The squirrels climb too high for me so i mostly chase scents, and the boys cross country team from the college…They practice in the morning while we’re out walking so I run along side to speed them up;) Baths come every two weeks around here no matter what season 😦 Momz is streaming Downton Abbey right now getting ready for your latest episode

  7. Looking fabulous Gizmo 🙂 I loves you wrapped in the towel..So cute xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  8. Shiva & Jaya says:

    If mom gave us bath, we would eat her like lion eats antilope!

  9. What a great message. Thanks for sharing! I’m loving the cosy blanket 🙂

  10. You’re a handsome and trim guy, just how we like them.

  11. Ann Paws says:

    You look really buff Gizmo! Wow… sounds like your mom is doing a great job to me too!

  12. Gizmo, you are very trim indeed…though I know you are standing all stretched out in the tub so it could be cheating a bit. I will have to make mom check this out when we neet up next month. BOL
    *high paws*
    Oz

  13. Hey Giz, Jet here. Hi Miss JG.

    Dude, I have to pass this off to the ladies.

    JJ: Gizmo, you look quite fit and trim, like me! Sure hope we get to run together some time! Great post reminding everyone the importance of fit K9s, thanks!

    • Gizmo says:

      I understand Jetty…wouldn’t want you commenting on my buff bod BOL! Now JJ you and I could get up to some fine dawgie fun *wink wink* *WonderfulWednesdaySnoogles* to you both and to Miss L

  14. ilovecats says:

    you are adorable! your waist is smaller than mine.. I’m going to have to go walking with you..

  15. Loy says:

    Gizmo you are lookin’ great! I love your pink towel, too!

  16. Glad you’re keeping in such good shape, Gizmo! Lulu is also in great shape, if I say so myself. It’s me who needs to work out! lol

    Christie from lifewithbeagle.com

  17. You look great… hope you will get some treats for taking a bath ;o)

    • Gizmo says:

      Oh yes Easy…treats are definitely a major part of the program…after the bath and then more of the flashy box stuff I got quite a handful of yums

  18. Look at that nice trim waistline Gizmo! Awesome!

    • Gizmo says:

      It’s easy to see on me, especially when i’m all wet…i guess it would be a lot harder to display the waist on Sherman & Leroy…probably easier to actually feel the ribs and the waist than to show it in a photo

  19. The same applies to kitties too. M has me on a diet and I almost have a waist now. I’m more energetic too and willing to play more often.

  20. Val says:

    Oh you look fabulous. We try to keep our girlz fit and trim too. Maybe we should start a Fit Kidz and Pups Campaign, unfortunately there’s a lot of chubby kiddos out there too. What could be better than little peeps with their pups practicing good health activities. Hey i think I just might have stumbled onto a good idea….Must get my thinking cap on!!
    P.s. love your bath towel 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      Oooh…that sounds like a program for April Blog the Change don’t you think? A health initiative for elementary students to walk/run with their dogs every day..That sounds like a program that could actually take off…do keep me updated…it’s a great idea that could work

      • val bloy says:

        Lets work on this together!! Two heads are always better than one. Time to brainstorm.;)

      • Gizmo says:

        i actually know a woman who runs wellness programs for the local school board…i think she works mostly with employees, but she might have some ideas…i’ll try and get in touch with her and run the idea by her to see what she thinks

  21. Will and Eko says:

    You may not be the biggest dog, Giz, but I bet you can soak a room with the best of them when you dry yourself off! Looking good and fit.

  22. Kristine says:

    I agree with those above, the towel is a nice touch. Who says real men can’t wear pink? I think you are rockin’ it and your waistline. So glad you decided to join in to spread awareness about dog health!

    • Gizmo says:

      Thanks Kristine…This project is important and i’m hoping that some folks will be inspired to get their dogs in good conditon if they aren’t already…Maybe by the end of the year we’ll be seeing some success stories

  23. Bren says:

    Awww Gizmo! You’re such a stud! 🙂

    • Gizmo says:

      Oh yes, I’m a manly man BOL! I’m reading your post Hold On! Someone Please Stop the Room From Spinning! right now…off to see if my twitter share button has my twitter name attached…never thought to check that so thanks!

  24. FleaByte says:

    What a trim, handsome waist! If you were people, you’d be built like a cowboy. *swoon*

    Hey – I’m going to be in Orlando in February for a trade show (hanging out with the Jones Chews folks). Any chance we can do lunch or something one day while I’m there?

    • Gizmo says:

      Aw garsh ma’am BOL! Gizmo is very flatterred and yes…big yes…I would love to meet up…email me what dates you’ll be down here so i can make sure and have a day off and we will absolutely get together…and thanks so much for asking! i was at my favorite pet store this morning looking at some bones…there was a ‘kneecap’ Gizmo was interested in…and guess what? when I looked at the label it was from Jones Natural Chews!

  25. Whoa! Gizzy, look at you workin that sleek bod! You are looking fit as ever my little fur buddy! I think this is a great way to show how important exercise is!
    Hey gizzy btw, didn’t you used to have something going on here where you could share your posts and pictures directly to pinterest and facebook and twitter and such, where did it go?

    • Gizmo says:

      Kirbster my man! I am certain you are every bit as buff as i am *highpaws* down at the bottom of the post there’s a button that says share and a drop down menu…if you click that you should be able to share wherever you want…there’s a list of options there…and thanks for asking!

  26. Hi, Gizmo. We know you’ll forgive your mommy ’cause we know you love her so very much. Wet or dry, you’re a real cutie.

  27. Jana Rade says:

    One awesome waistline! Way to go, Gizmo! Thank you for joining the campaign!

    • Gizmo says:

      Thank you for starting this Jana…it is an important issue and one that should be highlighted…And I was proud to show off my buff bod along with all those other fit and trim pups

  28. Oskar says:

    You look great. My mom person says I am just the right size!

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

  29. I know you don’t want to hear this but you look so cute wrapped up in that towel! It’s obvious your mom loves you!

    • Gizmo says:

      Gizmo thinks he looks manly, like a boxer in his satin robe with the hood up…Momz thinks he looks adorable, especially that first photo…it’s become one of my favorites…and yes, he has totally stolen my heart ❤

  30. Katie says:

    So adorable. Love the pics of you wrapped in the towel!! I could squeeze you!

  31. Hey Giz – cool towel – and SO proud of your new flashy coat and waist. I’ve decided, for my 8th birthday (today) that Mom and I are going to walk & play outside more and eat better. Aunt Beth is going by The Doggie Bag to get me some samples of “the good stuff” that you, Cooper and Annie have been eating (to make sure it tastes the same at home as it does at Aunt Beth’s). Last time Mom got some of the high $ chow that I was eating at Aunt Beth’s, it just didn’t appeal to me at home 😉 .. Keep up the great work, pal!

    • Gizmo says:

      Hey we walk every morning and you Ms Sparky and your mom are welcome to join us any day before work…we usually head out at 6 am for 30 minutes so just come on by…and I saw aunt other beth today and i was at the doggie bag and told them we were getting them another convert 🙂
      and of course Happy Barkday !

  32. Hi Gizmo1 We’s sorry we’s a little late & having to do catch-up wif our bloggie friends (reproachful look at mommy). WE know that “work emergency” isn’t a REAL emergency. *huff*. We told her to pull the other one! But we digress.

    WE agree completely that doggies & kitties NEED to be svelte enough to show off their waistlines. We boyz do, and Mommy’s working with Allie to help her get hers back. Being even a teensy bit overweight can have a health impact in so many different ways…!

    Gizmo dood, yer lookin’ svelte fur sure!! Keep up yer geocaching trips and yer walkies!

    • Gizmo says:

      Hi guys! You’re welcome to visit me anytime…It’s lovely having kitteh furriends. I’m glad yur momz takes such good care of you all and knows that a fit anipal is a happy anipal and one that will be with us fur a long time

  33. Wow, do you have a waist line, Gizmo. You must be working out a lot, I guess 🙂

  34. Pingback: Wordless{ish} Wednesday | TwentyFive Seasons

  35. Lindsay says:

    We just joined the campaign as well. Your waist looks great!

  36. Pingback: Are You Feeding the Right Amount of Dog Food? | Terrier TorrentTerrier Torrent

Leave a Reply

