VEGGIE BROWNIES & A MYSTERY VEGETABLE – TASTY TUESDAY

Gizmo here and it’s time for another installment of Momz Seat of My Pants recipes. This time she’s really outdone herself…

Two things have happened around here recently that led to today’s recipe. First, a small local-sourced produce stand opened up outside one of our favorite stores, and second, a friend gave Momz a juicer. Momz has been visiting the stand regularly to load up on fresh veggies and last week she found something  quite unique there…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When asked, the stand owner advised here that this was a Strawberry Onion, and it’s Florida’s version of Georgia’s famed Vidalia…super sweet and it doesn’t make your eyes water when you peel it. Strawberry Onions are grown around the strawberry fields in nearby Plant City, the Strawberry Capital and host to the annual Florida Strawberry Festival. Of course she had to try these and, though I can’t vouch for this (onions being bad for dawgs and all) Momz says it’s a delicious. Strawberry onions are available locally from February through April, though with our warm Winter this year’s crop started coming in early. In recent years they have been shipped to the Northeast, and as far as Maine, Ohio and Michigan, so you if you have a great produce source you may be able to find them. For more information on Strawberry Onions visit the Parkesdale Farms website.

Now for today’s recipe. Mom juices every morning and there’s always a couple of cups of veggie pulp left over…Most days it goes out into the flower bed as compost, but today she decided to get creative and see if she could turn that veggie pulp into  a nommy treat for me…

First she juiced up a couple cups of kale, a large carrot, half a small beet, two small apples and a knob of ginger…Here’s what the pulp looked liked…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next she mixed in two egg, some garlic powder, about 1/2 cup of flour, 1/2 cup of diluted veggie juice and for taste a tablespoon of leftover bacon grease. She put it all in a lightly pan-sprayed baking dish and into a 350* oven. Here’s what the ‘batter’ looked like before baking…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the perils of S.O.M.P cooking is that sometimes things go wrong…This time Momz took the pan out of the oven after 35” when the toothpick came out dry…She tried to flip the pan over on the cutting board but then OOOPS the center was not fully cooked (No photos here – Momz is too embarrassed BOL!)   She lifted the cooked part back into the pan, patched it up with the still wet parts and back in the oven it went.  15 minutes later she tried again and this time it was cooked all the way through…She tipped the ‘cake’ out on the board again and cut it into strips that went back into a 250* oven on a cookie sheet to dry out for about an hour.

Here’s where me Gizmo came to help out…Momz cut a few pieces for a taste test…I’m not a big veggie eater and Momz is trying to change that with veggie-based noms…I was not totally sure about this one…I sniffed, sniffed again and gave it a lick…Hmmm, not too awful…Ok I’ll give this one a qualified one paw up…But Momz wasn’t done yet…She melted up a little bit of unsalted butter with some garlic powder and lightly brushed it on top…Yowza…Now we’re talking…My revised vote is an enthusiastic two paws up and I’m sitting pretty for more…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Note from Beth: I know some of you are lucky enough to have dogs that love veggies, but with Gizmo I have to be creative…this recipe was a way for me to sneak some veggies into his diet. The added fat is really minimal, so I won’t feel bad about him having 4 or 5 of these a day as part of his regular meals. They will be stored in the refrigerator.

Today’s 30/30 Challenge ticker:

Thanks to Sugar the Golden Retriever and Kol’s Notesfor hosting the Tasty Tuesday Blog Hop. Hop on over to see what everyone is cooking today.

TastyTuesday

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to VEGGIE BROWNIES & A MYSTERY VEGETABLE – TASTY TUESDAY

  1. haopee2 says:

    I can relate with Gizmo… my old dog loved Mango… even the sour/unripe ones!!!

    I love vegetables and we cook it in different way… usually in soup form and we eat it for lunch. LOL.

    Note to Beth: I think it’s witty… sneaky… and smart. LOL. Good thing Gizmo isn’t a fussy eater (so to say).

    Huggies and Cheese,

    Haopee of my dogs love me

    • Gizmo says:

      I’ve seen cookbooks on how to sneak veggies into your child’s diet so why not sneak them into your dog’s diet too? Using the pulp like this I’m able to recycle and the pulp is already ‘partially digested’ through grinding, which is what I see recommended in guides on feeding a raw diet…Haven’t tried Giz with mangos yet…so far we’ve been sticking to veggies but we try try introducing some fruits soon

  2. Sneaking veggies in your diet Gizmo….Yikes. Actually if you like it good for you. How imaginative is your peeps? I don’t do green or any veggies really, I even spit out every pea in my dish. Peeps has given up. Don’t give her ideas! Have a terrific Tuesday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • Gizmo says:

      Molly it was the garlic butter wash that did the trick for me…couldn’t resist that (I know I’m weak) Momz was experimenting here and if I didn’t like them it was OK, but truth is they’re really good

  3. It looks great to me!!! I’ll bet it is delicious ;o) I’m not really a fan of veggies and fruits – but this looks really good… 5 paws I think…

    • Gizmo says:

      You’d like these Easy…They’re soft like human brownies so Momz can use them to stuff my treat ball and they do taste really good to me now…I’m willing to give any treat a try and I’d sure rather have these than those yucky chinese duck things

  4. Roxy the Traveling Dog says:

    That’s a great idea. When I juice fruit I will use the pulp in muffins, for me. These two love veggies, so they would like your creation for sure.

    • Gizmo says:

      And this was so easy, as the pulp was already prepared…took 5 minutes to mix it up and get it in the pan and Gizmo really does like them so I know Roxy and Torrey will too

  5. Hi Gizmo! Hi Miss Beth.
    I think this is a super-duper idea because I love (some) veggies especially carrots and potatoes (sweet and white). As they say, pal, you should really eat your veggies…they are good for you and are low-calorie (as if I need to be on a diet – but anyway). Since Ma doesn’t have a juicer, I think I will have her chop up the veggies in the food whizzer so she can make me these!
    Thanks for a great idea!
    Oz

    • Gizmo says:

      Before Momz got the juicer she was making her juice in the blender and it was pretty OK, except a little more thick and pulpy and she didn’t have the pulp strained out like the juicer gives. But your mom could definitely grind up the veggies nice and small in the food whizzer and I know that would work too…Since you already like veggies you’re gonna love these…Yesterday Momz made herself some zucchini and sweet potato pancakes and shared them with me…They were totally nommy and she’s gonna write up that recipe next.

  6. You’re so very creative in coming up with a recipe like that! The batter looks “interesting” but the finished product looks delicious. I’m glad Gizmo enjoyed getting his veggies!

    • Gizmo says:

      Thank you…I know it’s not the prettiest mixture, but Giz doesn’t care…most of my cooking is “creative” like this…I love see what I have on hand and think up some new way of using it…The veggie pulp was just an obvious ingredient to me

  7. Oh I luv’z veggie’z, well I eat’z anyfing. Got someink for youz when wez get diz post out..BOL xx00xx
    Mollie and Alfie

    • Gizmo says:

      I didn’t like the veggies when Momz offered them, but all shmooshed up and baked just for me I think they’re pretty nommy…we be buzzing over to see what’s up Molly…You have a very Tasty Tuesday!

  8. FleaByte says:

    Chop a strip or two of bacon into the mix and I’ll bet he’d be eating his veggies in a heartbeat. 😉 I kid, I kid. Have a tasty Tuesday, Gizmo!

  9. Sounds and looks nommy! I love veggies…apart from raw brussell sprouts – they are yucky!

    • Gizmo says:

      i won’t eat any veggies raw so Momz has to hide them in stuff like brownnies for me 😉 she thinks i don’t know but i do…and i eat them cause they’re good 🙂

  10. Jodi says:

    Sampson would eat anything if I put butter on it. LOL this morning he was sniffing at my salad so I offered him a piece of lettuce, but he politely refused. Delilah of course, ate it.

    • Gizmo says:

      Giz will lick the blue cheese dressing off a piece of lettuce then spit out the lettuce…he will not eat raw veggies at all, so hiding them like this works well for us…The amount of garlic butter I used was tiny…maybe a tablespoon for the whole batch just brushed on lightly

  11. Jessica says:

    Silas is pretty happy to eat carrots, so otherwise I don’t bother trying to feed him vegetables.

    How do you like your juicer? I’ve been thinking about getting one. Although, beets .

    • Gizmo says:

      I’d been juicing in the blender for a while and it was OK though I had to thin it out with about an equal amount of water cause it was really thick with all the pulp still in it…This juicer is a Champion, about 10 years old and still working great… And I was able to download the manual and they still use the same model number and have parts available for it…I had looked at them for a long time but then my friend got a Keurig for Christmas and needed the space on her counter so she gave me the juicer…I’m very happy with it…And yes, beets BOL!

  12. Wow! Free juicer! That is great! Your recipe, and especially the last picture had my ma’s mouth watering, much like mind does whenever there is some delicious meat lying around! Great recipe!

    • Gizmo says:

      Thanks Kirbster…I’m sure if your mom makes these for you you’d like them as much as I do … and yes, the free juicer was a major score…Momz got them some fish baskets and a silicon basting brush for their bbq grill as a thank you, but she still thinks she got the better end of the deal

  13. Kristine says:

    Oh wow, so creative! How do you come up with such fun recipes! My dog is sadly very neglected these days and I don’t remember the last time I baked for her. Poor little puppy. Most of the time I just can’t be bothered as she never seems to really appreciate my efforts. Home-cooking is scarfed down just as quickly as kibble. If she won’t at least savour my work, what’s the point? 😉

    • Gizmo says:

      That’s what SOMP cooking is all about…just figure out what you’ve got and then invent a new way to use it…and these days i’ve got lots of veggie pulp 🙂 I guess I bake for Gizmo for 3 reasons…the biggest one is that I really enjoy cooking…i find it very relaxing to just be working in the kitchen…and two is that with all the issues out there about treats these days, this way i know exactly what he’s getting…and the third…it’s really economical…i do buy him things i can’t make like his favorite dried salmon jerky, but for regular cookies and treats it’s a way to save some cash and make your pup happy at the same time…

  14. Will and Eko says:

    I really need to stop reading these while I’m eating my gourmet lunch of PB&J! Time to step up my cooking game.

    • Gizmo says:

      I bet it’s “gourmet PB&J” BOL! Really, baking for the pups is a lot of fun and you can be creative as they’re very forgiving of how things look and willing to give almost anything a try…Tasty Tuesday has lots of super ideas and most are really easy to do…i like making “brownies” cause you don’t have to roll out and cut so it’s really quick, just mix and bake

  15. I am very familiar with SOMP cooking. This sounds pretty delicious to me. Obviously Gizmo isn’t like Georgia who will eat anything 😉 I put veggie mash or blends into her meals everyday and top them up with fruits because she’s a big fruitarian. Does Gizmo like fruits? I think Georgia prefers bananas to meat. You should see her drool when one gets peeled LOL!

    I wish I could find some strawberry onions here. Onions are my favourite thing to cook with next to garlic. I can’t imagine what those strawberry onions taste like. A little tart? Oh, and you drink KALE? Wow.

    • Gizmo says:

      SOMP is the best way to cook IMHO…i love making something yummy from the odds and ends i find int he fridge…Gizmo can be a picky eater at times so I try to make things he’ll like, while giving things that are good for him…so far he hasn’t shown a taste for fruit, but i haven’t given up…i’m thinking that i’ll juice up a bunch of fruit and then make brownies using the fruit pulp and see how that goes…and if he won’t eat them maybe i will LOL

      Strawberry onions were a brand new thing to me and i’ve been living right next to Plant city for 6 years now…they’re not exactly as advertised, not as “sweet as an apple” but pretty tasty…I’ve used them in a fruited chicken salad and they are mild enough to enjoy raw and don’t overpower…and i used them in my zucchini/sweet potato pancakes where they were good, but personally i would have like a more oniony flavor there…maybe just need to add more onion next time

  16. Urban Hounds says:

    What a clever way to use veggie pulp

    urban hounds

  17. wow! that dish sure looks tasty Gizmo… i sure would like to taste some strawberry onions in my dish someday… x0x0x Vanilla Bean
    p.s. I have given you an award. 🙂 This is the shortlink to my post: http://wp.me/pPYET-Wn

    • Gizmo says:

      Hi Vanilla Bean…glad you came by 🙂 the brownies are very nommy but no onyuns fur me…mom says they’re not good fur us dawgs…and thenk you so much for my award…that is so sweet of you…i left you a hint about the circus over on your blog

  18. jan says:

    That looks fantastic. What we want to know is how do you keep bipeds who live with you from eating it all? Our bipeds are quite large and our cook is quite small.

  19. Woof! Woof! Kale is an absolute great vegetable. Tons here and mom had me taste some when she baked it. Fruit juices is also a wonderful alternative to water. Golden Thanks for sharing. Happy Tasty Tuesday. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    • Gizmo says:

      Kale is Momz favorite green for juicing…she sez its better than spinach..I like the fruits in my brownies but not eating them raw yet

  20. wyatt says:

    That looks D-Lish! I will ask my mom to bake that for me. She loves to try new recipes with wholesome garden veggies for Stanzie and Me. Thanks!

    Wyatt

  21. Ann Paws says:

    Your momz is so creative in the kitchen Gizmo! How cool. She should go on that cooking show “Chopped”. Maybe they should make up a Chopped for Dogs. She would totally win that!

    • Gizmo says:

      LOL! Momz watches ALL the cooking competition shows…She calls it her “guilty pleasure”…And she can totally see herself on Chopped 🙂

  22. bichonpawz says:

    This sounds like a very interesting recipe! We will have mama give it a try! Xo Chloe and LadyBug

    • Gizmo says:

      If you juice and have the pulp left over you should try it…You can always grind the veggies up very small in a blender of food processor and substitute that…use your favorite veggies

  23. Zena says:

    It certainly looks good but I’m the sort that needs to have my veggies hidden and tasting like meat! Zac would eat veggies raw but Rafi and I are not so keen – your recipes might change my mind.

  24. These treats might be just sneaky enough to trick Buster into eating some vegetables! And an onion that doesn’t make you cry? Why is that not more popular?

    • Gizmo says:

      They are a bit sneaky, but what Gizmo or Buster don’t know won’t hurt them, right? BOL! These onions are only grown around the strawberry fields from what I can find out…I was told it was to keep critters out of the berries…Maybe they could be found in other areas with a large strawberry crop?

  25. Clowie says:

    I only eat disguised vegetables. This sounds as though I might like it.

  26. What a great idea! We make cookies with our juiced veggies, but brownies?! That’s inspired! We’re definitely going to try this!

  27. Pingback: Sometimes bloopers turn to be a perfect panorama – A blooper in the kitchen | I sense, therefore I reflect

  28. Pingback: TOYS, VEGGIES, BUTTERFLIES & GEOCACHING – BEHIND THE PAW #4 | Terrier Torrent

Leave a Reply

