SQUASH BROWNIES for TASTY TUESDAY

Here’s another recipe from my upcoming “Seat of My Pants Cookbook”***.

On leftover patrol in my fridge this morning what did I spy but a bowl of leftover mashed squash (a mix of acorn and butternut that I had roasted in the oven). It was plain & waiting to be dressed up, but I just wasn’t feeling it. I had the choice of either dumping it or making it into some kind of treat for Gizmo. “Waste not, want not” Ben Franklin said, so it was time to put on my Official S.O.M.P. Chef Hat (Soon to be available at Williams Sonoma – I wish!) and come up with something.

First I set the oven to 350*, figuring that would be a good temperature for almost anything I created. I placed the squash (about 3 cups worth) into a mixing bowl and smashed it up a bit more…then tossed in an egg, some garlic powder, a splash of chicken stock and one of olive oil…then mixed that all together really well… I dumped in some flour (you can see how “gourmet” the S.O.M.P.  cookbook is…I “dump in” ingredients often)  about ¼ cup at  a time, mixing as I went…I probably used about ¾ C flour in all. Now I had something that looked a lot like orange brownie batter…way too moist and sticky to roll out into cookies. Not wanting to overload the recipe with flour for fear of it getting too gummy, I paused, then  glanced over at the dish rack and spotted an 8” x 10” glass baking dish…brainstorm! A quick squirt of pan spray, then dump (see, there it is again) the batter into the dish,  and popped into that preheated 350*oven for about 20”-25” (using the toothpick method…remove from the oven when the toothpick comes out clean).

When the toothpick came out clean the pan came out of the oven, and I set it to cool slightly,  and then turned out the “cake” onto a board. I cut the “cake” into small squares, about ½” x 1/2” .  Now it was Gizmo’s turn to put on his Official Dawg Treat Tastetester Hat (we’re big on Official Hats around here)  and try one just to see if I was on to anything…Yep, he liked it…a lot…but they were very soft. Now if you’ve got a lot of dogs these won’t be around for long and you can stop here…but with just Gizmo I wanted to dry them out a bit for storage purposes (even though I would be keeping them in the fridge). So back into a 200* oven for about an hour…still not really hard, but nice and dry and ready for storage I let Gizmo taste test them again (he kept his hat on of course) and knew I was on to a winner.

Total prep time: 5”

Total baking time: 60″- 90″

Total time for Gizmo to eat one: Milliseconds

This is really quick and easy, so there’s no excuse for not baking up something yummy for your furballs.

*** NB This book does not exist and will not be available soon on Amazon.

O

Thanks to Sugar the Golden Retriever and Kol’s Notes for hosting the Tasty Tuesday Blog Hop. Hop on over to see what everyone is cooking today.

TastyTuesday

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to SQUASH BROWNIES for TASTY TUESDAY

  1. Madi and Mom says:

    Morning Gizmo and it is very nice to meet you!
    OMDs your girl is a genius to concoct such a culinary delight for her best bud!!
    And you my handsome friend are an ace taster.
    Hugs Madi

  2. Oh that’s a great recipe – Thank you Gizmo!!! I would buy your cookbook…and “seat of my pants cookbook” is a very cool name – could be a bestseller ;o)

    • Gizmo says:

      Thanks Easy! Get your mom to try it soon…Here’s the thing about S.O.M.P. cooking—you can’t have recipes—you never know just what you’ll find hiding in the back of the fridge BOL! *snoogles*

  3. Dogs N Pawz says:

    Hi Gizmo! That sounds really good! Our mom tried that by the “seat of my pants” thing last week and made us some pumpkin things. We really liked them but mom tasted them and didn’t like them so much! Have a great day!

  4. Loy says:

    Hey Gizmo, Those sound really good! Have a Tasty Tuesday!

  5. Kristine says:

    I know you say the book doesn’t exist but I think you need to an a “yet” to that statement. You are definitely on to something. Not only are these easy and tasty, but it sounds like you had a lot of fun! I know by nature “seat of your pants” baking is anti-recipe but perhaps you could teach an online course to those of us trapped by cookbooks. I’d love to learn how to come up with stuff like this on my own!

    • Gizmo says:

      Kristine thanks for those kind words…First rule of S.O.M.P. cooking is that there are no rules…Read cookbooks for inspiration, then close the book, open the fridge or the cupboard, see what’s there, and imagine whatever it is transformed…You won’t always be successful, but more often you will be I promise…Give me an example of some leftover you have right now, and I’ll give you a suggestion

  6. raisingdaisy says:

    Gizmo is one lucky pup! They sound great!

  7. harrispen says:

    Gizmo you are lucky to have such a clever mom. I love her S.O.T.P. cooking style.

    Millie

  8. Yummm, that looks really good. Lucky doggie.

  9. Woof! Woof! LOVE the title of the book. I LOVE squash and have a similar treat. You are a good tester. Happy Tasty Tuesday. ENJOY! Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  10. They look well scrummy 🙂 I’m sniffing round ya bloggy for a photo of youz, so I can Chriztaz youz 🙂 Hopefully, all going well’z wiff interwed thiz end, youz should be on parade tomorrow’z 🙂 x00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Gizmo says:

      Molly & Alfie you wud like dese a lot I’m sure…Mom sent yur mom a pee mail wif a pikshure of me that she can use fur Chriztazizing… Hoping yur interweb problems get fixed fur you quick *snoogles*

  11. Mmmmmm, looks good mate! Gotta try this one too,

    RA

  12. Bella says:

    That looks tasty! I get all eyebally when there are treats around *wag wag wag*

    • Gizmo says:

      Oh I understand Bella…when mom is baking i take up my observation post and don’t move till it’s time fur the taste-testing *snoogles*

  13. Squash brownies!!! I have never heard of such a thing. How can you awesome chefs tease us so much by showing us beautiful yummy food over a blog, with no taste button! XD

  14. Easy, peasy and healthy too! Good job mama!

  15. Gizmo, you have a cool mom and she can cook. That’s more than BJ can say. I’m glad you showed your appreciation by gobbling them up.

  16. cotton says:

    Those sure do look yummy!! We should try it
    Cotton

  17. What a great idea! I love it! I’m a horrible baker, but I love to cook. Now why didn’t I think of using leftovers for dogs?? HMMMMMMM….

Leave a comment