Hiking a New Trail

This post is part of the new and improved Pet Bloggers Blog Hop  hosted by Two Little Cavaliers. This is is a weekly event to help you connect with other Pet Bloggers. Hop on over to see what all your furriends are talking about today.

It was a beautiful morning so JG & I took off to hike a new trail. We went off to the nearby Marshall Hampton Reserve for the first time.  The property is over 1,000 acres and used to be a cattle ranch so there’s lots of opportunity for some good scents here.

Today we hiked the 2.5 mile Osprey Overlook Trail that circles around a large man-made lake or “borrow pit”.  A borrow pit is where soil has been removed for use in another project, typically road building. Ground water fills up the resulting hole creating a lake.

 

This is a multi-use trail for both hikers and horses so there’s lots of peemail been left for me to find.

 

JG loves oak trees so we stopped here for a minute.

 

This is Caesar’s Weed a very bad plant. It is covered in little fuzzy balls that stick to me like velcro…sometimes they get in my paws and I have to stop to pull them out. When we get home JG has to comb me to get them all out.

 

We had a wonderful time out here today and will be back soon to check out the other trail, the Acorn Hammock Loop, that winds through a shady oak hammock.

If you’re in the neighborhood come by and we can come out for a hike!

 

*snoogles* @GizmoGeodog

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hiking a New Trail

  1. Loy says:

    Hey Gizmo, Hope you found an interesting geogift along the way!

  2. Gizmo says:

    we didn’t bring da GPS wif us today but dere are caches out dere and we will be going back soon…thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Bongo says:

    That looks like a really great trail. I wish I had a lake on my trails. I’m just lucky when my puddle shows up.

    • Gizmo says:

      This is a great trail as long as it’s cooler weather but it’s mostly out in open sun so not so good in Summer. The other trail out there is a mostly shaded trail we hear so we’re gonna check that one out next.

      • Bongo says:

        In the summer we have to wait until the sun’s almost down to go on my trails. It’s just too hot anywhere during the day in the summer.

  4. Gizmo says:

    I bet…you don’t have many big shade trees out there I guess and those cactus don’t be lookin’ too shady 🙂 *snoogles*

  5. Laura Bruner says:

    Beautiful photos! Coop and June would love that trail!

  6. Garth Riley says:

    Hi Gizmo!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Yes, we loved our visit to Florida! I’ve been there twice now and found it to be very nice and dog-friendly. Plus it has all kinds of interesting smells and exotic creatures!!!

    We like to hike too! What a lovely hike and a lovely tree. My mom and dad love trees, too, and they especially love the trees they see in Florida because they are so different from those we have in Virginia. We love how the trees in Florida have Spanish moss and sometimes even ferns and orchids growing on their branches!

    your new pal,
    Garth

    • Gizmo says:

      Hi Garth…I love the Spanish Moss…we have lots of it in our yard & I have fun dragging around big piles of it running real fast…just make sure & stay away from our ‘gators…they like dogs a little too much BOL!

  7. Pingback: GIZMO CACHEFINDER – ALMOST WORDLESS WEDNESDAY | Terrier Torrent

Leave a comment