“BEHIND THE PAW” – WEEK #1 2013

Hi Everyone..It’s time for our first weekly roundup of the New Year where I take you “behind the paw”  for some extra fun stuff on this week’s stories…

Sunday I posted a photo of Sandhill Cranes taken at the Teneroc Trailhead in Saddle Creek Park here in Lakeland. Teneroc is one of the gateways to the Great Florida Birding Trail , a 2,000-mile, self-guided highway trail that connects nearly 500 birding and wildlife viewing sites throughout Florida.  The GFBT website provides tons of great resources for serious birders and novices alike including a downloadable Checklist of Florida Birds. The Checklist of Florida’s Birds contains 513 bird species including 496 native Florida birds, 13 established nonnatives and 4 native species now considered extinct in Florida.  One perk offered visiting birders is the free loaner optics program at each of the nine gateway sites, and eighteen additional sites. Sites with the loaner optics program feature a staffed visitor center or office where birders can stop in and borrow a pair of binoculars for free in exchange for a driver’s license or credit card.

On Monday our great pal The Kirbster from Kirby’s Dawg Blog did the funnest thing…He “comic booked” Gizmo, sitting in a tree of course, and even included Gizmo’s geodog GPS…What a super gift for the new year…

c2c851ec-cd6a-4c1f-a3e5-b38ca8389c7e-copy

Also on Monday Gizmo & I took you on a hike of the Lost Lake Loop of the Teneroc Trail . That trail connects to the main section of the Teneroc tract to the north. I’ve found a great video taken on a hike from that northern trailhead that I want to share. The video was shot by Kevin Mims, the “Outdoor & Nature Guy” for  Visit Florida.  Kevin has posted videos of his hikes all over the state .  On this hike at Teneroc he’s come across a feral hog, an armadillo and at 2:54 in that most celebrated critter the Florida gator.

WahooHiker at Teneroc

Tuesday we wished everyone a very Happy New Year and shared a video from the early 1970’s of the Divine Miss Bette Midler.  Embarrassing personal history time –  there’s a  “Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon” link here…During that era I “was in a relationship” (or the “old lady” as they used to say back then) with a guy who was a roadie for rock bands in and around New York City, including the Buzzy Linhart Band and one called Moogy & the Rhythm Kings. Buzzy & Moogy together wrote the song “Friends” that went on to become Bette Midler’s theme song.  Because of that I actually got to work at some of Bette’s early shows around Greenwich Village.

This annotated video has the songwriters reunited decades later to once again sing their biggest hit. Buzzy sings lead and Moogy is behind him on drums.

Buzzy Linhart at the Bottom Line, NYC. 2002 “(You Got To Have) Friends” also known as “Friends”

Yesterday we gave thanks for two lovely awards, and I’ve just learned that the beautiful Princess Zena of The Princess Tales has chosen us to receive a Very Inspiring Blogger Award.  It’s been quite a week! There are some rules of acceptance of course and in order to do it justice we’ll be posting more about it later this week…but today I just had to share Smile

very-inspiring-blogger-award

Here’s today’s ticker  update for the 30/30 Challenge…the Challenge link is over in the sidebar…Gizmo & I are doing well so far…

5

Thanks to Two Little Cavaliers for co-hosting The Saturday Pet Blogger Hop

Saturday pet-blogger-hop-badge

About Gizmo

Hi! I'm Gizmo...a handsome terrier-about-town with a distinct point of view. I will write about whatever interesting things come across my desk, appear on my twitter feed @GizmoGeodog, or meet me out on the geotrails. I love to geocache cause it takes me to all the wild places & I can get back to being a real dog. I care about all my brofurs & sisfurs who haven't found their own forever homes yet, & raise funds to help them whenever I can. My girl brought me home from the shelter & together we explore our world. I do my best to make her smile, & she does her best for me. We are a team.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to “BEHIND THE PAW” – WEEK #1 2013

  1. that’s incredible how fast the time is running – isn’t it? and so much things in only one week – wow! I like the friends song in this version very much – it seems like he would sing only to me ;o)

    • Gizmo says:

      Events from so many years ago and I can still remember them clearly…In my head I’m still that 20 year old girl exploring the wonders of New York City

  2. That was a full on week. Now the festivities over it will be back to normal in our pad. Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

  3. Jodi says:

    Thanks for joining Follow-up Friday, we’re so happy to have you on board. Great recap of your week. Love the idea that you were ‘the old lady’ for a roadie! What Fun!! Have a great weekend!!!

    • Gizmo says:

      I do enjoy the idea of adding bits & pieces that may have been missed in original posts, and giving some background…And yes, I do have a “colorful” past as “hippie chick” LOL!

  4. Kristine says:

    Love the adorable ticker! Maybe I should find some way to track my progress as well to keep me more accountable.

    Love the cute comic-ized picture of Gizmo as well! Some people have amazing editing skills. I could definitely see Gizmo as the star in his own comic book or cartoon!

    • Gizmo says:

      The ticker is super easy to do and update…And I agree…Giz is such goofball he would be a great comic book hero, emphasis on the “comic” 🙂

  5. Great round up to your week. We are walking in desert, and you are walking in the green marsh country. What a difference.

  6. Tootsie says:

    That is so neat! We loved the video, too. 🙂

    Keep on wagging,
    Tootsie

  7. wow that was all in a week! you live an exciting life. we just like to sleep, eat, and bark.

    yuki and rocket

  8. You had an exciting week! I remember Buzz Linhart and sorely miss The Bottom Line. TW saw so many great shows there. She even helped book a weekly series they had there on upcoming, unsigned acts. I’m working on my Next Big Thing acceptance speech now.

    • Gizmo says:

      If you remember Buzzy we must have been hanging around the same dives back in the day…Bottom Line, Cafe Wha?, Gerde’s Folk City…and later on the Fillmore East and the Academy of Music…those were the days 🙂

  9. Hey Giz, Jetty here. Hi Miss JG.

    Oh the stories Miss JG can tell… sounds like a Pajama party in the tropics!!!

    Great FUF… we’ve read all the posts… you guys rock!

    • Gizmo says:

      Thanks jetty…Tell Miss L that a tropical PJ pawty sounds great…as long as there’s rum! and plenty of treats of course 🙂 *highpaws* to you, JJ and Miss L

  10. Wow. You have a lot going on. Love the ticker for the challenge 🙂

  11. 2browndawgs says:

    Great recap of your week. I love the cartoon picture. 🙂

  12. Good luck on your 30/30 challenge, that sounds like fun! We wanna go on a nice warm hike like that….darn snow. Congrats again, on the awards Gizzy! – your pal Kirby

  13. Bert says:

    You really get around dont you Giz…. WE enjoyed the video of the guy walking, it was fun to see a real armadillo, the boar, the croc. Do you get to go on that walk? I bet you are extra careful so you don’t become somethings dinner…..

    • Gizmo says:

      Mom does take me everywhere she can…We did the trail in the video, but not that same day so we didn’t see that gator…I’m not allowed to chase boars but I have rooted out a ‘dillo or two 😉

  14. What a week, Dad would like to see all the birdies, he loves em. Big congratulations on the award and Kirby did a fantastic job 🙂 Have a great weekend 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Gizmo says:

      We do have so many interesting birds here year round, then large migratory populations in winter…It’s a great place for birding…Happpy saturday!

  15. Anne Kimball says:

    Hi Gizmo, I’m Anne from Life on the Funny Farm (http://annesfunnyfarm.blogspot.com), and I’m visiting from the Pet Blogger Hop.

    Great pictures and descriptions of the trail. I love hiking, but haven’t been in way too long. Also liked the “six degrees of separation” thing, as we’ve just been talking about that here at my house latelu. My sister is an actress, so it’s a pretty easy game since we cheat using her. Yesterday we realized we have three degrees to the president!

    Anyway, thanks for posting this. If you’ve never visited yet, I hope you can pop by my blog sometime to say hi…

    • Gizmo says:

      Hello Anne and thanks for coming by today…3 degrees from the president is pretty darn cook! Gizmo & I will surely visit you today 🙂

  16. Loy says:

    Wow! What a great week you’ve had, Gizmo! Congratulations on your awards! Have a happy Saturday!

  17. Hey, G! I see some changes on this blog. I love your awards page! And hey…do I see some familiar buttons too?!? Keep it up, pal!
    Oz

    • Gizmo says:

      Hi Oz! Yes, mom is working on it…and I’m hoping we’ll have that new header soon…only thing she messed up was the pinterest butt…and she’s still not sure about the footer…but it’s getting better 🙂

      • Well, the great thing about a blog is that you can change/update it until you get it just right! HeeHee I hope you had a great hike this morning!!!! It is cloudy and rainy here so no big walks yet today – boo!

      • Gizmo says:

        Hike was great…now I’ve been combed. brushed and bathed 😦 and I’m down for some serious nap time…Should have new header by Monday or Tuesday…Dog Park date tomorrow with my gurldog Winter

  18. Hiya Gizmo! thanks so much for visiting our blog!
    Enjoy all the fun this weekend!
    : ) Katie

  19. Cotton says:

    Congrats on yours award 😀
    Cotton

  20. maxwellnfaraday says:

    Mowzers, what a week! Concats on yet another pawsome awardie too!

  21. Garth Riley says:

    Hiya Gizmo! Congrats on the award! Interesting video — momma would love to see an armadillo – so far we’ve only seen dead ones on the road. But the gator – yikes! Mom and dad have this fear of crocs and gators – in particular they’re worried about me or them getting eaten by a croc or gator. I’ve never seen one out of the water like in the video. Yikes!

    your pal,
    Garth

    • Gizmo says:

      I thought you’d like that video Garth…Gizmo finds ‘dillo’s in the palmetto stands along the trails and are great fun to chase… you don’t often find gators going cross country so that was a very unusual opportunity

Leave a comment